We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay, Amazing Price!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay, Amazing Price!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Found this place on Trip Advisor and after staying I can say we enjoyed our visit. We arrived and could see they were currently doing construction, and was greatly surprised at what we got for the price!! We walked through the hall past the construction of the new pool inside, wow when it's all done ! Our room was great, spacious, clean and updated! We had a flat screen tv, brown leather chair, desk, wifi was fast, nice comfy bed, updated nice bathroom, couldn't ask for more! I expected to hear some type of construction work but all was very quiet! We also walked into a nice breakfast with eggs, biscuits and gravy, cereals, breads, juices and coffees, nice surprise. The room to eat was a little small and was full, but they offered a nice outdoor patio with patio tables, fireplace, and patio furniture. This place is doing a fantastic job on the motel, and would definitely stay again!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for the 5 star review. we really appreciate that you took the time to write a review. Happy to hear we exceeded your expectations. We are constantly striving to provide distinctive lodging with real Dakota hospitality. We like our job and hope it shows. Safe travels to you. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    96
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
102
90
24
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakonda, South Dakota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

thank you for this incredibly wonderful hotel!! it was so very clean- and trust me that is one of the most important things me and my family look for! it was very homey feeling. loved the room we stayed in and would most defiantly be coming back to stay over and over. The bed and the pillows were clean and smelled it. the bathroom loved it!! the tv nicely updated to flat screen. the room was just so nice that you felt like you were safe and comfortable. I loved the feeling of feeling safe. that goes a long way!! The breakfast was amazing! And the staff was so warm and nice. They made you feel like part of the family and not just some random guest. They smiled and so you know they enjoy their jobs- they enjoy their jobs -you enjoy your stay! they were very well informed about the area and things to do and places to eat. The manager Donna showed us around to see what was coming up with the renovations- the new water slide heck yeah!! my children will be entertained and so will my husband for hours!! Thank you Donna for this exceptional hotel and can not wait to see you and your staff again soon!!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms! even the ground floor is quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you so much for the 5 star review. The whole staff gets excited every time we get 5 stars hoping we will go up in the ratings . Our goal is to provide the best service at the lowest price. It is very rewarding to hear we accomplished it in your case. Thank you for staying with us . Donna Gratzfeld , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stopped by this hotel for a night at the end of our road trip. Location is convenient to the highway, but tricky to get into and it doesn't look like much from the outside. Surprisingly nice inside!! Very clean, obviously newly remodeled, nice amenities and breakfast. Was a nice quiet place to rest. Would stay here again if I were in the area!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is greatly appreciated. Happy we could provide you with a comfortable stay. We are still working on the exterior and hope to have it finished soon. Each day brings us a little closer to the finished product. The road construction has made it a little difficult to find the frontage road but it to is almost completed. They opened the other side of Russell this afternoon. Wishing you safe travels. Donna Gratzfeld General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This property has undergone a HUGE transformation and the neighborhood is also getting renewed. Stay here for a good rate too! They are adding on a new hotel indoor waterpark and pool area. The courtyard area is beautiful and the rooms were really really clean and comfy. Very updated and contemporary. Nice job!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
WOW, 5 thank yous for the 5 stars. We repeatedly hear how surprised people are when they see how nice our property is for the price. We start on the front exterior this week. The pool and spray area and the hot tub are all poured. The elevator is in service. We are almost there. Thank you again for staying with us. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed here a few times. Every stay was wonderful. Even with remodeling going on. Breakfast is more than expected. Friendly staff very helpful. Looking forward to next time we stay should be even better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review. We really appreciate the fact that we have so many loyal repeat customers. The kind words are encouraging as we continue to forge ahead on this large project. Completion day is coming very soon and each day brings a little more excitement. Thank you again for staying with us and see you soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I really enjoyed the nights stay. Wish I could stay another night. The hot breakfast was good. The place was very clean. The bed! I didn't want to get out of it. Wish I could sleep all day in it. Nice big flatscreen tv! A big comfy leather chair. We'll stop on in of your tired and spend the night. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We could provide you with a great stay. We have been working hard for the last two years to make it a great hotel So glad we are getting there. Hope you come back again soon. Donna Gratzfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

On Hotels.com this received a 4.1 rating out of 5, so for the price, I went for it. It wasn't bad; it wasn't great either. Our room wasn't ready at check-in time, so we had to find something to do for about an hour. No big deal, just part of the mediocrity. The rooms were outdated but clean. It was perfectly fine for a one-night layover on our way to the Black Hills.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Seems you were less than satisfied with your stay and for that I apologize. We like to have everyone leave happy and we usually succeed. We have made it a policy to let guests check in as soon as we can.This is sometimes just not possible. With 102 rooms mostly full and a 11 AM check out we cannot get them all clean in 4 hours. We do our very best but in your case it was not good enough and again I apologize. We have only had the property for 2 years, purchased everything new and just completed the last rooms 6 months ago so am not sure what you considered outdated but maybe the cozy, homey feel we chose is not to your liking. We are an independent family owned hotel and some people prefer the large chain look. We wish you safe travels and thank you for giving us a try. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. Waterpark is for registered guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.