We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer on the inside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nicer on the inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stopped by this hotel for a night at the end of our road trip. Location is convenient to the highway, but tricky to get into and it doesn't look like much from the outside. Surprisingly nice inside!! Very clean, obviously newly remodeled, nice amenities and breakfast. Was a nice quiet place to rest. Would stay here again if I were in the area!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is greatly appreciated. Happy we could provide you with a comfortable stay. We are still working on the exterior and hope to have it finished soon. Each day brings us a little closer to the finished product. The road construction has made it a little difficult to find the frontage road but it to is almost completed. They opened the other side of Russell this afternoon. Wishing you safe travels. Donna Gratzfeld General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    89
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
90
85
21
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This property has undergone a HUGE transformation and the neighborhood is also getting renewed. Stay here for a good rate too! They are adding on a new hotel indoor waterpark and pool area. The courtyard area is beautiful and the rooms were really really clean and comfy. Very updated and contemporary. Nice job!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
WOW, 5 thank yous for the 5 stars. We repeatedly hear how surprised people are when they see how nice our property is for the price. We start on the front exterior this week. The pool and spray area and the hot tub are all poured. The elevator is in service. We are almost there. Thank you again for staying with us. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed here a few times. Every stay was wonderful. Even with remodeling going on. Breakfast is more than expected. Friendly staff very helpful. Looking forward to next time we stay should be even better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review. We really appreciate the fact that we have so many loyal repeat customers. The kind words are encouraging as we continue to forge ahead on this large project. Completion day is coming very soon and each day brings a little more excitement. Thank you again for staying with us and see you soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I really enjoyed the nights stay. Wish I could stay another night. The hot breakfast was good. The place was very clean. The bed! I didn't want to get out of it. Wish I could sleep all day in it. Nice big flatscreen tv! A big comfy leather chair. We'll stop on in of your tired and spend the night. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We could provide you with a great stay. We have been working hard for the last two years to make it a great hotel So glad we are getting there. Hope you come back again soon. Donna Gratzfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

On Hotels.com this received a 4.1 rating out of 5, so for the price, I went for it. It wasn't bad; it wasn't great either. Our room wasn't ready at check-in time, so we had to find something to do for about an hour. No big deal, just part of the mediocrity. The rooms were outdated but clean. It was perfectly fine for a one-night layover on our way to the Black Hills.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Seems you were less than satisfied with your stay and for that I apologize. We like to have everyone leave happy and we usually succeed. We have made it a policy to let guests check in as soon as we can.This is sometimes just not possible. With 102 rooms mostly full and a 11 AM check out we cannot get them all clean in 4 hours. We do our very best but in your case it was not good enough and again I apologize. We have only had the property for 2 years, purchased everything new and just completed the last rooms 6 months ago so am not sure what you considered outdated but maybe the cozy, homey feel we chose is not to your liking. We are an independent family owned hotel and some people prefer the large chain look. We wish you safe travels and thank you for giving us a try. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estherville, Iowa, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights for a fun weekend with the kids. I read a ton of reviews on hotels and the previous reviews gave this hotel the thumbs up. I would agree. It is a little out of the way, but very close the activities we had planned. (Canaries game, Falls Park) The room was clean, well decorated, the beds were comfortable. The temp of the room stayed right where we wanted it to! They are doing some construction but nothing that really interrupted our stay. They are adding a pool! The breakfast was good, little more than continental, eggs, biscuits and gravy, yogurt. They did a great job keeping it full and fresh. The courtyard is amazing, we had some unseasonably cool weather so sitting on the courtyard for breakfast was amazing. It is so relaxing and inviting. I wish we would have had time to take advantage of the fire place during the evening hours. The staff was welcoming and check in/out was completely uneventful with smiling faces! If they maintain the affordable price, this may be our go to hotel for the Sioux Falls area!

Room Tip: There is not a working elevator so if you have issues with steps, request 1st floor. they are instal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you so much for the 5 star review. It is so rewarding for the staff to read your kind words. I have good news, The elevator is in service effective Friday August 1st. Everyone is happy about this latest improvement. Hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ethridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is place is super nice and some great folks. We had a King room that was very nice and spacious. The bath was nice, great water pressure and hot water. This is an inside entrance place and has access on both ends of each hall. The place is nice and secure feeling and no issues if travel on motorcycles. They have a wonderful courtyard with sitting area and fireplace.

There is a touch of construction going on at present but nothing that will both you, when finished this is going to be the place to go, they are installing a jam up pool area with water slide that is sure to be a hit.

The hotel has a good location to go see the sites from and get back to, even with some of the road construction to the east of place not to worry.

Room Tip: The hallways run north to south so you can choose for the sunrise crowd, the side facing the RV Lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you so much for the great 5 star review. Happy we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay. Hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.