We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and upgrades” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Save Saved
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice location and upgrades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The room was recently updated with the hotel renovations. Check-in service was great. The breakfast had good selection and okay quality. The owners are investing in many improvements which is nice to see. The courtyard was lovely and wish we would have found it sooner during our stay. The location was close to downtown but closer to the highway which is exactly what we wanted. We would return to this hotel and wish it well with the renovations.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes we will be happy also when it is finally finished. We try very hard to not inconvenience our guest in any way with the construction.They started digging the pool today and are coming to start the elevator tomorrow. Progress its great to see. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    83
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
78
77
19
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burbank
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We loved staying at the Dakotah Lodge. It was clean and the staff went out of their way to make our stay comfy. We even got to visit with the head gal, Donna, who is so charming and fun. We would stay there again. The place is decorated so cute, and maintained wonderfully!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. It makes us all feel like we are accomplishing our goal of providing a comfortable stay at a reasonable price. We are constantly trying to improve in everyway we can. It is fun to get around in the breakfast area and visit with the guest, it is something I don't get to do as often as I would like. Hope you get back to see us again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermillion, South Dakota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at the Dakotah Lodge for the Jazz Fest in Sioux Falls. We had great service all around. The hotel had a taxi service arranged to take us to the S. Falls fair grounds. The fair grounds are very close to the Dakotah Lodge. We saved time getting to the concert and did not have to find a parking spot. Our rooms were clean and the staff was very accomodating. The breakfast was overwhelming and the waffles delicious. Charming decor! We will be back during fair week!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. Hope you had a good time at the Ribfest. We had partnered with a taxi service to make it easier for our guests to get back and forth to the activities and concerts. We are happy we were able to meet or exceed your expectations and look forward to seeing you at fair time. Thank you again, Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here with two children for one night while in town for a basketball tournament. I'm not too picky when it comes to hotels, but the two of the things I look for are cleanliness and a decent breakfast. I was disappointed in both during our stay here. There was hair in the bathtub, what looks like mold on the bottom of the soap caddy and dirt and hair on the floor behind the bathroom door. The breakfast was your typical hotel breakfast, which is fine, but the scrambled eggs were dry, the biscuits were cold and hard, and the fruit was kind of old.

The other things I look for in a hotel are a decent bed and no musty or stale smoke smell, and I was pleased on both accounts here. I didn't notice any smell in the hallways or room. The bed and bedding was clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the room. The lobby and courtyard are very pretty. The staff was friendly and helpful.

I will probably try staying here one more time and hope the housekeeping has improved. It would be a good value with just a little more effort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.. We appreciate your pointing out some problems you had with your stay. We try very hard but we know we are not perfect. Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope you will come back and give us that chance to be better. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the Dakotah Lodge (Brimark Inn at the time of reservation) in early July on our way to Mount Rushmore and the Black Hills. After perusing many of the offerings in Sioux Falls, I chose the Brimark Inn for its touch of vintage charm, and the promise of newly renovated rooms at a price point just a bit lower than most competitors. I was a bit disappointed to see they had taken down the retro signage and rebranded, but the rooms were lovely and the fireplace in the courtyard was a highlight of our stay. The concieagere was especially friendly and helpful as we planned our evening in Sioux Falls. Breakfast was about what you would expect. The hotel is a little hard to get to at first because it sits off of a frontage road near the highway and the construction obscures some signage. They are now working on constructing the pool and that looks like it will be nice. Overall, I would recommend the Dakotah Lodge. A good value.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the courtyard have much better views than the rooms that face the exterior... nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy we could provide you with a comfortable stay at a good price. . Will be looking forward to seeing you again soon and know you will enjoy the new waterplay land. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Prospect, IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at the Dakota Lodge on our way to Mount Rushmore. It's convenient in the respect that's it's on the way to Mt. Rushmore from Chicago. But the actual hotel location is kind of hard to get to and when we showed up at around 9 at night there was a bunch of drinking construction workers in the parking lot having a gathering. A little unsettling for my wife and myself. It's a basic type hotel - it could use a little fresh up - but not to bad. Room was clean and felt safe once we settled in for the night. I wish they would start their breakfast a little earlier then 6am.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay. I don't know about the drinking construction workers. We have non staying here at this time. I hope you notified the front desk. I myself would be uncomfortable checking in if I saw that. It is hard to determine what time to start and stop breakfast. On holidays and weekends we are serving later to accommodate the people who sleep in so don't like to start any earlier we like to keep things as fresh as possible. Thank you for staying with us hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

On cross country road trip, this was just what the doctor ordered. Cool, comfy rooms, big, welcoming beds, good water pressure, and a hot breakfast included. Room did smell like it had once been a smoking room, but highly recommended. Centrally located to Falls Park and easy off Interstate 90.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. There are so many hotels to chose from we feel honored to be chosen. We are doing our best to provide a clean comfortable room at a reasonable price. Safe travels to you and hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentry hot breakfast.Presently building an indoor pool with waterslide expected opening august 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.