We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Save Saved
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Chillicothe, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed last year when it was Brimark Inn and it was fine. This year it was great. The rooms haven't changed but a courtyard has been added with fireplace, water feature, grill, green area, nice furniture. The rooms are nice, love the color scheme. No elevator, so request first floor if it matters. They are building an indoor pool area. I hope they can keep their prices low. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Nice breakfast. CLEAN.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
The elevator is coming very soon. It will be in our new addition. We are also putting in a small arcade and a new guest laundry. The electricians are busy wiring all these things this week. We still do not have a completion day on it all but are anxiously that day. So happy that you enjoyed your stay and the new courtyard. It has really become popular. Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon,. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    77
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
72
68
18
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very nice hotel for the value I received from my online booking site ! Also I didn't have to ask for two beds it was imediately giving to me when the host saw we were two male cell tower workers.This is appreciated greatly!! very clean and ongoing improvements can only add to the experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
5 Thank yous for your 5 star review. It is very satisfying that we were able to meet all your needs. Road warriors like you really have seen a variety of properties and to get such a great review from you is very exciting thank you for choosing us and safe travels. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Booked in for one night in June but stayed two nights. Although there is some construction going on it was very quite. All the staff were extremely helpful and polite. Manageress was delightful. Room was very good, breakfast was great. It has a delightful garden to relax in with a waterfall. Spent time sunbathing it was very peaceful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. I found you quite delightful as well. You were lucky to be here when the sun was shining it seems to have rained a little each day since you have since you left. The courtyard is a great place to sunbath , read a book or just relax. After your long journey it was nice to see you take advantage of it. Hope to see you next summer when all the work is done. So happy we were able to be of service to such nice people from across the pond. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I must admit I wasn't expecting much but ended up being very pleased with this hotel. We unexpectedly had to stay the night in Sioux Falls and my husband picked this as the near-cheapest option from an online booking site (in the same price ballpark as the Six and the Eight). I just crossed my fingers and hoped for "clean." It did, in fact, turn out to be very clean, but it was better than that. The room and bathroom had very nice appointments, picked with a good eye. The mattress, pillows, and bedding were good quality. The painting scheme both in the hallway and in the rooms was tasteful. The place is being renovated [the part in front was under construction, a new water park I think]. Somebody is clearly pumping a lot of money into spiffing the place up, and making good choices about it. Don't let the outside fool you, it's not a shabby place. It's a bit hard to find even though it's next to I-29 (the access roads there are a bit byzantine), but once you learn the trick it's not hard to get to. My only negative is that the energy-saving bulbs [which I'm for, in theory] were dim, making the room a little darker than I prefer. But all in all, I don't think I've ever stayed at a better place for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for such a nice review. It is always good when we exceed someone's expectations. We do have many pleasantly surprised guests. We did the interior first so you would be comfortable but we are getting to the outside as you could see. The stonework is going well as is the siding. Windows are now in the waterpark . The tower stairs will be here the 20th for the 167 ft waterslide. It is coming but not fast enough for us! Thank you for staying with us. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is making some construction changes. The check in was seamless & everyone was exceptionally friendly. The mattress had a quilted top and was very comfortable. The hot & cold breakfast had just about everything to get your day started. Courtyard was very appealing too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so happy we met or exceeded your expectations, We all enjoy our job and like to show we are truly in the hospitality business. As our slogan says "Distinctive Lodging , Real Dakota Hospitality " Hope you will be back again soon. Thank you for the 5 star review. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We stopped at this little hotel because of the price. We realized we had stayed there before. It used to be named Brinmarck Inn. They have really outdone themselves updating the hotel. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. They are adding an addition to the hotel which will be a water park which should be open this summer.

They have a very nice breakfast and the seating looks out onto a beautiful courtyard.

The hotel isn't hard to find, but it sits ext to an RV dealer and you might miss it. Take the time to look for it, it is well worth it. We will definitely stay here the next time we go through Sioux Falls.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Many thanks for all the kind words. I cannot tell you how happy this makes us all to feel. We are always hoping for the 5 stars when we get a review because it says you can tell we are doing the best we can. It is a pleasure to have been of service to you. Safe travels and hope to see you soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Although this hotel looked rough on the outside the lobby was modern and inviting. Abby, the front desk lady, was friendly and informative.
The room was clean and comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised by the comfy bed and soft pillows. Only one complaint; the water pressure was low so it look longer to take a shower then it should have.
Overall, a great place at an inexpensive price.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write a nice review. We are currently working on the outside appearance. We started with the inside first so our guests would have a comfortable stay Now the out side and some plumbing issues are getting the attention . Thank you for letting us know about your shower pressure. It is with the help of people like you that we are aware of these little quirts and are able to quickly remedy the problems. Hope you will be back to see us soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentry hot breakfast.Presently building an indoor pool with waterslide expected opening august 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.