We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My father in law lives close by and we were in town to visit and needed a place to stay. The room was so nice and you can't beat the price. The bed is very comfortable and the staff is outstanding. The breakfast was good and there was plenty of room to sit in such a quaint area to eat. We plan on staying here for every visit.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
A five star review! Thank you! We are happy to have been able to provide you with an excellent stay. We will doing our name change quite soon so when we answer the phone Dakotah Lodge do not worry we will continue to be the same people and give you the same Dakota hospitality..We are looking forward to your next visit.. Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    89
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
90
85
21
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prairie Grove, Arkansas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed here based on trip advisor reviews and reasonable room rate. There is a lot of construction and renovation going on right now. So, it might look a bit sketchy from the outside. Don't let that deter you. I stayed in one of the king rooms. Everything was fresh and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Flat screen TV, microwave and fridge in room. Newly renovated. Very clean room! Housekeeping did a fantastic job. The girl that checked me in, I'm sorry I didn't get her name, was extremely friendly. I love being able to write a very positive review for a place with such reasonable room rates. It's not unusual to find great accommodations at a high price point, but it's a pleasant surprise to find them at a lower one.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We are so glad you did find us! We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review. Looking forward to a return visit whenever you are in the area. Safe travels. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My crew and I live from hotel to hotel, out here working on cellular towers. After staying here I think we have found our second home. Freshly renovated rooms. The rooms are spacious and up to date. Everything works, no smell or odor from the carpets. Nice flat screen tv. Plenty of towels. Loved my leather couch in my single king bed room. Front desk is courteous and quick. Will be looking forward to staying here again.

Andrew Le
Frequencies Wireless Solutions LLc.
andrew@frequenciestx.com

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the 5 star review .It must be difficult to have to travel for such extended periods of time. We are so happy to have been able to provide you with an excellent stay. we promise to continue our commitment to provide our guests with a comfortable stay at a reasonable price with real Dakota hospitality. Thank you for staying with us and safe travels. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, South Dakota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

The upgrades have been refreshing. The rooms are bright, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was so tastey and served in a quaint country kitchen. I wittnessed the breakfast lady being kind and not put out when asked to assist a family. Reasonable rates and the staff was eager to make sure our stay was pleasant. We are excited to see the finished construction and addition of an indoor pool.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We have such a great staff and they watch the reviews closely. The first thing I heard when I came to work is "we have a new 5 star review." Thank you for staying with us and we hope we can be of service again soon. Donna, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Wow! What a great deal for the price. Yet again, even while going through major remodeling and heavy construction, far exceeded the normal motel stay. Very polite, courteous, friendly and helpful staff, great continental breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms. I would give them 10 stars if it were an option. This was our second time to stay with Brimark and is where we will stay the next time we're in the area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank You. We are thrilled at the 5 points but will give the staff the 10. Everyone does try to make sure that each stay is a special one and they hope to meet your expectations. We are happy to have succeeded . Hope you will be back again soon to see the updates. Remember the upcoming name change . Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here during the Summit League basketball tournament. This was our second stay in the last six months and both have been great for us. We stayed in this property off and on for the last 35 years and the current owners and management have done a great job of updating. With the exception of a cramped bathroom, you would not get the impression of being in an older motel. The furnishings, room decor, and interior halls are all very current and clean.
The free breakfast will get you by and the breakfast room is nicely decorated and the attendant keeps things refreshed and clean. The outdoor courtyard is still being finished but looks like it will be very pleasant when completed and the warm weather season arrives.
We made our reservations by checking the motel website and got a great rate with the ability to change or cancel.
The motel is located on the north side of the city, a disadvantage if you want to be in the middle of the shopping area on the south side. However, it provides excellent access to the rapidly expanding sports complexes and the new events center located on the north side.
We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for the very nice review. Yes, we are REALLY trying to give you a great stay at a reasonable price .As you mentioned there is a lot of growth in this area especially with The Pentagon, Sanford sports complex, fairgrounds and the Arena all within a mile of us. We are currently working on the indoor pool, children's spray area and 167 foot waterslide. The last of our rooms are being finished and the elevator is on the way. Remember the name change coming soon. Dakotah Lodge. Thank you , Donna Gratzfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILFORD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on March 14th. I found a coupon online and decided to call for a reservation. The man I talked to on the phone didn't know about the coupon and finally gave me the reduced price. This hotel is easy to get to since it is right off the interstate. Our room was cozy, clean and very quiet. The breakfast room was charming and the food was good. The hot dishes included biscuits and gravy and scrambled eggs. Toast, bagels, yogurt, cereal and pastries were also on the buffet. The staff we met were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is close to a biking/walking trail. We would stay here again if we were to stay in Sioux Falls.

Room Tip: I am glad we stayed in a room away from the exit doors. People can be loud when they enter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We really appreciate it . It is very helpful to hear what our guest think. Hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.