We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent motel at a great price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Pierre, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent motel at a great price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here during the Summit League basketball tournament. This was our second stay in the last six months and both have been great for us. We stayed in this property off and on for the last 35 years and the current owners and management have done a great job of updating. With the exception of a cramped bathroom, you would not get the impression of being in an older motel. The furnishings, room decor, and interior halls are all very current and clean.
The free breakfast will get you by and the breakfast room is nicely decorated and the attendant keeps things refreshed and clean. The outdoor courtyard is still being finished but looks like it will be very pleasant when completed and the warm weather season arrives.
We made our reservations by checking the motel website and got a great rate with the ability to change or cancel.
The motel is located on the north side of the city, a disadvantage if you want to be in the middle of the shopping area on the south side. However, it provides excellent access to the rapidly expanding sports complexes and the new events center located on the north side.
We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for the very nice review. Yes, we are REALLY trying to give you a great stay at a reasonable price .As you mentioned there is a lot of growth in this area especially with The Pentagon, Sanford sports complex, fairgrounds and the Arena all within a mile of us. We are currently working on the indoor pool, children's spray area and 167 foot waterslide. The last of our rooms are being finished and the elevator is on the way. Remember the name change coming soon. Dakotah Lodge. Thank you , Donna Gratzfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    87
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
88
83
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MILFORD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on March 14th. I found a coupon online and decided to call for a reservation. The man I talked to on the phone didn't know about the coupon and finally gave me the reduced price. This hotel is easy to get to since it is right off the interstate. Our room was cozy, clean and very quiet. The breakfast room was charming and the food was good. The hot dishes included biscuits and gravy and scrambled eggs. Toast, bagels, yogurt, cereal and pastries were also on the buffet. The staff we met were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is close to a biking/walking trail. We would stay here again if we were to stay in Sioux Falls.

Room Tip: I am glad we stayed in a room away from the exit doors. People can be loud when they enter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We really appreciate it . It is very helpful to hear what our guest think. Hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Brimark Inn for the weekend of March 7-9th. We selected this property due to the reviews on Tripadvisor. The price was great, $140 total for the two nights, the room was clean and freshly painted, with very comfortable beds. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice, except for no meat. The check in and out was quick and smooth as the staff was friendly and efficient. On the down side, the bathrooms are quite small. I will stay there again, however do not get a room near one of the back entrances due to the noise of people coming and going, unless you plan on getting up before 6 am. I should have asked to be moved, my bad.

Room Tip: Again, stay away from the lower corner rooms near the entry doors due to patrons coming and going, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. A large percentage of our guests have chosen us because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. I am so sorry about the noise outside your room unfortunately all guests are not considerate of other people. Our rooms are generally very quiet due to the all masonry construction. You never hear people walking overhead or noise next door but as you said rooms by the entrances get a lot of traffic going by. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red deer alberta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed at the Brimark Inn on December 15, 2013. Rooms are very nice, clean and well kept.
Staff is very friendly and polite. The breakfast is excellent and the lady serving breakfast was fantastic. Restaurants, Gas Station and interstate are very close by. Had a great stay.
Will certainly stay again on the way by.
Sylvia Schmidt
Sylvan Lake, Alberta

Room Tip: Stay on main floor as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you so much for the 5 star review. The whole staff gets excited when they see such a nice review. We are pleased we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with Real Dakota Hospitality. Just a note to let you know of some changes coming :construction of the new indoor pool with waterplay area, an elevator and we will have a new name, Dakotah Lodge. Hope to see you again soon, Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I was recently stranded in Sioux Falls while traveling through town and was referred to the Brimark Inn as a being a great place to say. That was 100% true. My room was clean and reasonably priced. The general manager and staff were SUPER FRIENDLY and accomodating. The breakfast had a lot of variety and was very good. This is the best hotel experience I've had in the last 10 years. In the future, I would definitely choose to stay at the Brimark Inn any time I was in Sioux Falls.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
WOW !!! ALL 5s. That's what we like to see. Thank you so much for the great review. We are happy we could be of service. We truly love being in the hospitality business and look forward to seeing you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Decently priced, clean rooms and friendly staff . I would stay there again. No indoor pool but has a fitness room. A little difficult to get to but there was road construction out front at the time....










.


Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you, We are so glad to have been of service to you and hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.