We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bang for the Buck when in Sioux Falls!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Warren, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Bang for the Buck when in Sioux Falls!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Clean, looks newly renovated, easy to find, above average breakfast selection to boot! Would stay again! Very quiet with great heating and plenty of water pressure to accompany the hot water. Wi-Fi was very good to!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are so happy we were able to provide you with an enjoyable stay. We hope you come back and see our new addition when it is finished and remember we will be doing a name change in a couple of months to Dakotah Lodge. Thank you for staying with us. Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    87
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
88
83
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blue Earth, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My flight was cancelled, the staff was so accommodating and understanding that I ended up staying until my flight rescheduled 2 days later.The staff was so thoughtful. I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I hope you have arrived safely at your destination. The weather has been so terrible across the country it has inconvenienced so many people . It was our pleasure to be of service to you. We will look forward to seeing you on your return. Donna Gratzfeld , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here in order to be near the airport for an early morning flight. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and comfort in our room. We especially liked the matress on the bed. The staff were very nice to deal with, and the breakfast they serve has quite a few choices. I don't think anyone would be unable to find something they liked. One of the staff said they are going to be adding on a pool, and I think some more room. I think he said the name would be changed to the Dakota Inn. Sometime this summer I guess. Should also mention we liked the temperature control in the room. Very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
5 stars!!!Thank you so much. As you were told we are building on a water play land, redoing the exterior and will be changing our name to Dakotah Lodge. We promise to maintain our South Dakota hospitality. We really enjoy our guests and want you to know it. Thank you for staying with us and writing such a nice review. Donna Gratzfeld , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schofield
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have stayed MANY different places in Sioux Falls for the Christmas holiday over the last 30 years. Basically all we do is sleep in our hotel since we spend most of our time with family in town. We had gotten tired of spending well over $100 a night for a room we just slept in. I read the reviews on Tripadvisor and decided we would try the Brimark in for the 4 nights we were in Sioux Falls this year over Christmas. The rate was great, the staff very friendly, the rooms clean, the wi-fi reliable, the breakfast just enough and the location was great. The newly remodeled rooms were nice and the breakfast room was very cool. My only complaint was that our room was not cleaned one of the days we were there, but the front desk staff adjusted our bill with no hassle at all. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to provide you a great nights lodging with all the amenities ,at a fraction of the cost . I must address the fact your room was not cleaned one day . I am sorry it wasn't mentioned to you upon check in. Our housekeepers all have families and Christmas is the only holiday we try very hard to give them the whole day off. We usually only have a few rooms occupied over Christmas so we try to notify everyone that the front desk has everything they may need but we will not be cleaning their rooms that day. I am sorry this inconvenienced you. Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

From other reviews I expected the Brimark to be clean and friendly and I wasn't disappointed. What I didn't expect was the modern, designer look of my room. From the oversized leather chair to the stylish bathroom features to the wall colors and decorations, I felt like I was in a upscale 4-5 star hotel in a major urban center.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
WOW, thank you for such a great review. 5 stars is our goal so whenever we get it the whole staff is thrilled. It makes us very proud to be able to give you the kind of room and service that exceeded your expectations. Thank you for choosing us, it was our pleasure to serve you. Donna Gratzfeld ,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

this hotel was very nice. friendly staff. clean quiet large rooms. right off of I-29. waffles, biscuits & gravy, cereal, toast, fruit for breakfast. great price. they are under construction, which didnt interupt our stay and the pillows are very small. we asked for an extra pillow and got it right away. would stay there again when in sioux falls, sd

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are happy to have been of service to you. we will be looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you for staying with us. Donna Gratzfeld, Genera lManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the Brimark on our way back across the continent. It was a great night's rest after a long drive. The staff was super helpful and very friendly! I would stay again if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your great review. 5 stars makes us very happy. We are glad we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay and a good value. Happy travels, Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.