We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel to stay at” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Save Saved
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
wyoming
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“hotel to stay at”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

this hotel was very nice. friendly staff. clean quiet large rooms. right off of I-29. waffles, biscuits & gravy, cereal, toast, fruit for breakfast. great price. they are under construction, which didnt interupt our stay and the pillows are very small. we asked for an extra pillow and got it right away. would stay there again when in sioux falls, sd

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are happy to have been of service to you. we will be looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you for staying with us. Donna Gratzfeld, Genera lManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    83
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
78
77
19
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla, Alaska
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the Brimark on our way back across the continent. It was a great night's rest after a long drive. The staff was super helpful and very friendly! I would stay again if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your great review. 5 stars makes us very happy. We are glad we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay and a good value. Happy travels, Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is an independent hotel and shows they try hard and succeed. This is done right. It's comfortable from check-in to check-out. Very reasonable rates, about the nicest done place, tasteful then I've seen independent or chain. Decor is classic, neutral and still pretty unique bathroom. The room drapes and full and darkening. Had 'fridge with freezer; no microwave, but use the breakfast room one anytime. They are working on outside landscaping, but it's not in the way. Another thing, really easy door keycard and the breakfast standard fare. The peephole is tall for me and maids came knocking for service. I needed a health clinic and staff helped me find one and gave aide. I felt the most welcomed here then any on my 6 week trip.

Room Tip: It's kind of a U-shaped facility, you can be in the section nearest lobby and breakfast room, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and writing such a nice review. You will be glad to know that we have completed putting microwaves in every room as well as new single cup coffee makers .We are constantly striving to bring you the best in all amenities. We have now started construction on our new indoor pool and waterslide, this will enclose the u you mentioned and will contain our new elevator. Wishing you a Happy New Year , Donna Gratzfeld , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in the Brimark on the way to the Black Hills and could not have found a better stop. The rooms we great, clean and newly remodelled. The facilities provided for our needs perfectly. Finally, the friendly staff added the cherry to the top of our stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It is so appreciated that you would take the time. Our entire staff reads our reviews and they are so proud when they are mentioned. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandmahenry
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was our last hotel for this trip and it was pretty near perfect. A king-sized bed in a nice big room, 4 fluffy pillows, everything else you could wish for, a small but updated bathroom with a wonderful handmade soap holder on the wall. Free WiFi. Decent breakfast in the NICEST breakfast room I have ever been in and I have been in quite a few; the design and old country decor were lovely. If I could have stolen the old fridge and stove I would have! They were gorgeous. Lovely friendly staff, even the other guests were friendly. ANd the price was unbelievable. Our sole teeny, tiny complaint was that we couldn't seem to get to breakfast without going outside. Would recommend it to anyone and next time we are in SD, we know where to stay. They are even pet-friendly. :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. Glad we could provide you with a comfortable stay. The breakfast room is a favorite with many of our guests. it reminds one of a simpler time. Please keep coming back and watch the progress on the new waterplayland . Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had to overnight here on our way home due to a blizzard in North Dakota right after Christmas. For an overnight stay, it was okay. The breakfast is not worth waking up for. The hotel is newly remodeled. That doesn't say a ton. For needing a place to sleep and a quick shower, it did the trick. No real complaints, nor any compliments.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
I am so sorry you were less than impressed by our property. We strive to provide a pleasant experience for everyone. It would be helpful to know what we could do to make it better for you. While we do realize we cannot make everyone happy we will continue to try. Wishing you a safe and Happy New Year. Donna Gratzfeld General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I was very impressed by Brimark Inn. The newly remodeled rooms were comfortable and nice looking. Everything was very clean and the thick walls kept out noise from other rooms and the nearby highway. I appreciated the pet friendly policy and was so happy to be put in a nice new room with my dog, rather than an older room as many motels do. All the staff I met were friendly and professional. The breakfast was standard motel fare, nothing better or worse than you might expect, but I did appreciate the cute fridge that held the yogurts. I would make one suggestion - when the journey held me up and I knew that my arrival would be delayed until 2 a.m., I made several attempts to call the front desk to let them know I would be in late. Even though I let the phone ring for 2 or 3 minutes, it took five attempts before I got an answer and I couldn't reach a voicemail. A voicemail that kicked in after a while would have made my drive a little shorter, as I had to pull off to make the call. Aside from that little quibble, every other aspect of Brimark Inn exceeded my expectations. I feel like I've paid twice as much for other hotels that were only half as nice. I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Sioux Falls!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It is so nice to hear our guests opinions. We are still working on improvements and maybe we do need voicemail at the front desk. I have always preferred the front desk answer the phone personally but sometimes when they are really busy they miss calls which is not good either. Thank you again for the great review. Donna Gratzfeld ,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentry hot breakfast.Presently building an indoor pool with waterslide expected opening august 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.