We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to our winter vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Save Saved
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great start to our winter vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in the Brimark on the way to the Black Hills and could not have found a better stop. The rooms we great, clean and newly remodelled. The facilities provided for our needs perfectly. Finally, the friendly staff added the cherry to the top of our stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It is so appreciated that you would take the time. Our entire staff reads our reviews and they are so proud when they are mentioned. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    77
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
72
68
18
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
grandmahenry
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was our last hotel for this trip and it was pretty near perfect. A king-sized bed in a nice big room, 4 fluffy pillows, everything else you could wish for, a small but updated bathroom with a wonderful handmade soap holder on the wall. Free WiFi. Decent breakfast in the NICEST breakfast room I have ever been in and I have been in quite a few; the design and old country decor were lovely. If I could have stolen the old fridge and stove I would have! They were gorgeous. Lovely friendly staff, even the other guests were friendly. ANd the price was unbelievable. Our sole teeny, tiny complaint was that we couldn't seem to get to breakfast without going outside. Would recommend it to anyone and next time we are in SD, we know where to stay. They are even pet-friendly. :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. Glad we could provide you with a comfortable stay. The breakfast room is a favorite with many of our guests. it reminds one of a simpler time. Please keep coming back and watch the progress on the new waterplayland . Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had to overnight here on our way home due to a blizzard in North Dakota right after Christmas. For an overnight stay, it was okay. The breakfast is not worth waking up for. The hotel is newly remodeled. That doesn't say a ton. For needing a place to sleep and a quick shower, it did the trick. No real complaints, nor any compliments.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
I am so sorry you were less than impressed by our property. We strive to provide a pleasant experience for everyone. It would be helpful to know what we could do to make it better for you. While we do realize we cannot make everyone happy we will continue to try. Wishing you a safe and Happy New Year. Donna Gratzfeld General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I was very impressed by Brimark Inn. The newly remodeled rooms were comfortable and nice looking. Everything was very clean and the thick walls kept out noise from other rooms and the nearby highway. I appreciated the pet friendly policy and was so happy to be put in a nice new room with my dog, rather than an older room as many motels do. All the staff I met were friendly and professional. The breakfast was standard motel fare, nothing better or worse than you might expect, but I did appreciate the cute fridge that held the yogurts. I would make one suggestion - when the journey held me up and I knew that my arrival would be delayed until 2 a.m., I made several attempts to call the front desk to let them know I would be in late. Even though I let the phone ring for 2 or 3 minutes, it took five attempts before I got an answer and I couldn't reach a voicemail. A voicemail that kicked in after a while would have made my drive a little shorter, as I had to pull off to make the call. Aside from that little quibble, every other aspect of Brimark Inn exceeded my expectations. I feel like I've paid twice as much for other hotels that were only half as nice. I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Sioux Falls!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It is so nice to hear our guests opinions. We are still working on improvements and maybe we do need voicemail at the front desk. I have always preferred the front desk answer the phone personally but sometimes when they are really busy they miss calls which is not good either. Thank you again for the great review. Donna Gratzfeld ,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Greeted by friendly staff , great accommodations ...all newly renovated and still working on the site. Clean comfy room and lovely breakfast in the neatest little kitchen with an old fashioned green stove and ice-bow type fridge that added to the country feel with the loveliest lady working the area that came to talk to us...everything well equipped and would definitely recommend this as a terrific place to stay !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for such a great review. Glad you enjoyed our "country kitchen" it was a special project of the owners. We enjoy all the input we get from our guests It really helps as we plan our next phase of our redo of this property. Please come back again soon and watch the progress. Thank you for staying with us. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cokato, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by 2 very friendly clerks and given our room assignments. My father, who walks with a cane was very stiff and sore from the long car ride. The older of the two clerks checked to see if there was a closer room to the front so my father didn't have to work so far. There wasn't but she helped him walk to his room to make sure he got there ok while I moved the car. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. It was quiet at night which was a must for us after our travels. We have nothing but good things to say about our stay! We will stay there again when we get back thru the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so very much for the lovely review. We really strive to provide a comfortable stay and are happy to hear we succeeded . It was my pleasure to escort your Dad to his room, I personally know how stiff we can get after a long drive and it is always great to have a moment to visit with our guests. We are looking forward to your return. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is newly remodeled with up to date appliances, flat screen tv and great beds. The hotel is located in a quiet area and there is no road noise. We will come back for the friendly staff, the great sleep and good breakfast. A good value and lovely setting.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. You made our day much brighter. We are so happy we could meet your expectations and look forward to seeing you again. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentry hot breakfast.Presently building an indoor pool with waterslide expected opening august 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.