We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely recommend this hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Save Saved
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Cokato, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend this hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by 2 very friendly clerks and given our room assignments. My father, who walks with a cane was very stiff and sore from the long car ride. The older of the two clerks checked to see if there was a closer room to the front so my father didn't have to work so far. There wasn't but she helped him walk to his room to make sure he got there ok while I moved the car. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. It was quiet at night which was a must for us after our travels. We have nothing but good things to say about our stay! We will stay there again when we get back thru the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so very much for the lovely review. We really strive to provide a comfortable stay and are happy to hear we succeeded . It was my pleasure to escort your Dad to his room, I personally know how stiff we can get after a long drive and it is always great to have a moment to visit with our guests. We are looking forward to your return. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    83
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
77
77
19
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is newly remodeled with up to date appliances, flat screen tv and great beds. The hotel is located in a quiet area and there is no road noise. We will come back for the friendly staff, the great sleep and good breakfast. A good value and lovely setting.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. You made our day much brighter. We are so happy we could meet your expectations and look forward to seeing you again. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have had to stay often in Sioux Falls for the last 9 months for medical reasons, a woman and many times alone. Have tried approximately 10 different hotels in SF from lower end cost to higher end cost. Thought I would try the Brimark this time. I will no longer look for a better deal, better staff, feeling of safety, quietness or cleanliness. The Brimark has it all for the best price. EVERY staff member that was working was pleasant and spoke to me. Breakfast was awesome. Recent remodel is very nice. Courtyard in progress looks very nice. Won't be searching for a better stay in SF this is the place!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We truly enjoy being able to provide you with a comfortable stay at a good value. Looking forward to your return. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was an okay hotel. It looks as though a major renovation was recently completed and the overall interior was very nice. FYI the pool has been removed and management tells me they are putting in a water park in the front which ought to be a great draw for families when it is done. However, I thought the bed was a bit too soft, they missed replacing the old aluminum windows when they did the renovation, there was a hint of smoke seeping in from somewhere, the room was rather dim (needs more lighting), the fan in the bathroom appeared to be inop (if there was one), the drain in the bath needs some work (drained very slowly leaving you standing in six inches of water while taking a shower - a tad annoying), and there was not a microwave in my room. I'd stay there again if I needed a room close to the airport, but not if I were traveling on I-90. But, as I said, an okay hotel and a good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate hearing from our guests and their views of our property. We know we can't be everything to everybody but will continue to keep trying. Our goal is to provide a comfortable nights stay at a reasonable price .If we didn't do that , please accept my apologies. Donna Gratzfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Attended a conference at the hotel across the street and chose to stay at the Brimark Inn instead as it's smaller and would be quieter. Given the location, size, and price of this hotel, it is obviously in the budget category. For those looking for a luxury, chain, or (possibly) business hotel, of course they'll find things to hate. However, if you set your expectations in the context of what type of hotel this is, you'll find it is a fine place to stay for a few nights. My room was very recently renovated . . . new furniture, new carpet, the bedding looked new too. Bathroom, albeit tiny, was also recently renovated: new grouting/caulk in the bath, not a spec of mold to be seen. Front desk staff was always friendly and aware of people coming and going. Breakfast was typical prepackaged continental fare but at this price (free) what do you expect? Biggest gripe was housecleaning . . . my room was tidied, towels replaced, but it was obvious that the bath had not been cleaned (my hair was still in the tub). The bath was clean when I first checked in; so, I suppose I am OK with the cleaning being a bit lax for my two-day stay. At the time of my visit, they were renovating the outside patio space. No restaurant or room service (thus the one star)

Room Tip: first floor. second floor rooms may be hot (there are AC window units in the hallway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Getting input from our guests is very important to us. Our head housekeeper read this review and had a talk with her staff about our policies on cleaning stay over rooms. Again thank you for letting us know about this. Your remark about upstairs air conditioning has me puzzled though. There are air conditioners in the hallways as well as in the rooms therefore the rooms should be just as cool upstairs as down. Donna Gratzfeld ,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed here for a few days and it was wonderful. The girls at the front desk went way above and beyond what I would have expected. It was clean and quiet. The continental breakfast was plentiful and delicious. I would stay here again absolutely. I was so impressed by those girls at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review. Our front desk staff will enjoy reading it. Our front desk staff all log in and read the reviews. Hope you will be back again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived late in the day and were quite happy with this motel. The room looked as if it had recently had a face lift...it was clean and very comfortable. We were there for one night. The staff was friendly. They served breakfast in the morning. This is a very nice clean motel reasonably priced at $69.95 for two people. I would stay here again and would recommend it to others who are heading out west. Also we wanted to spend a little time seeing Sioux Falls and this motel was not far from them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We take our reviews very much to heart, both the good as well as the bad. We have been working on this property for a little more than 1 year and made a lot of improvements and are aware we have many more to make. There are so many choices out there and we feel honored that you selected us and had an enjoyable stay. Please come back again. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentry hot breakfast.Presently building an indoor pool with waterslide expected opening august 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.