We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some major issues” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Save Saved
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
McHenry, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some major issues”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We came in late (10 pm). The key cards would not open the room door. The on-duty desk person came to room and also could not get the door open. She commented "They have to do something about these locks." After several minutes of effort she finally got the door open. As we didn't plan to go out anymore we accepted the room. I did go out to get my cell from the car. I couldn't get the key card to work. My friend let me into the room. In the morning we decided to pack up and load the car before going to breakfast to avoid waiting for staff to get us back into the room. The room was hot. The cool/heat doesn't seem to be working in the room. Noise, but no air coming from the vent. Looks like an old system based on look of wall control. There is a fair amount of mold in the tub in the grout between tiles and around wall soap dish. They are doing a major landscape project. They need to spend the money on Room 153 instead. On plus side bed was comfortable and internet was fast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I am just mortified that you were put in that room. There is no excuse I just want to let you know what happened. Several rooms in that wing were slated to be completely gutted right down to the metal studs, because of problems as you have listed . Somehow, they got put back from, out of order to rentable and the front desk wasn't aware of the issues. It was a very unfortunate situation that we certainly wish hadn't happened. I want to assure you that is NOT how our rooms are normally. We are working very hard to redo all these rooms, much more than just a little paint. we are putting in new sheetrock, tile, new plumbing whatever it takes. As a guest just said we still have a ways to go on part of the building. As you can see by most of our reviews we are constantly striving to provide an enjoyable stay at a reasonable price. Please accept our apologies .Donna Gratzfeld , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    83
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
78
77
19
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Brimark Inn due to comments from tripadvisor, arriving 9/17th .... and we were very happy with this establishment......they have been remodeling for awhile and it really is paying off. Our room on the 1st floor looked all brand new. Our king size bed was very comfortable and the rooms décor was very pleasant all around -- also the hallway and the nice lounge area were tastefully and attractively done. And they have by far and away, the cutest and most attractive eating area that we have seen in awhile --- the farm motif is really well done to the smallest detail. The price was very good and without question, we'd stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It is very rewarding to hear you enjoyed your stay. we hope to see you back again soon. Donna Gratzfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The title says it all! This is a great place to stay and it is very reasonably priced. The room we had was ample with a very comfortable bed and a great TV. The staff was very nice and helpful with instructions on how to get around the city. We have been traveling for a few days and it was a great plus to have a laundry room (75 cents a load) available. It appears the hotel has been undergoing updating and some work is still being done in the courtyard but this does not deter from the great place it is.

Room Tip: Room at the end of the hall closed to the back entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put in such a nice review. We are a work in progress.. The good news is we are making progress. The courtyard will be finished by October 1st. The new addition footings will be going in after that. Please come and see us again and see the changes. Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

As other travelers have mentioned, road construction nearby makes this place tricky to get to and then there is more construction at the hotel. The pool and surrounding area are completely torn up. We were on the ground floor and our window looked directly into all the construction activity, so we had to keep the drapes closed or feel like monkeys in a zoo. I was concerned that we would be awakened at dawn by construction equipment, but they were considerate of guests.
There is an obvious attempt to modernize this place, but somehow all they have done seems to fall just a little short of the mark.
The ceilings are very low. My husband is 6'3" and anyone more than an inch or two taller would be hitting their head on the bathroom light. The bathroom was small, cold and didn't have heat or fan. The hair dryer is placed in such a manner that to reach the back of my head I had to turn my back to the mirror.They appeared to have recently "upgraded" the bathroom, but hadn't bothered to replace the door. On the plus side, the hair dryer had a nightlight which was very nice.
We tried the continental breakfast. It was ok, nothing special. But again, the noteworthy attempt to decorate the breakfast area just didn't quite work. The whole place gave the air of having gone to the lowest bidder.
The one bright spot is Stu at the front desk. He is an absolute delight and kept this from being a complete disappointment. He was charming and seemed to love his job. When my husband asked about getting our car washed he was most helpful and also made good suggestions for dinner establishments.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed Stu. It's nice that you had at least one high note in your otherwise disappointing stay. He is very popular with our guests. We do our best to please everyone but some times we miss the mark. Wishing you safe and happy travels, Donna Gratzfeld , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The good:

It was inexpensive, clean, quiet, and WIFI. Breakfast was good.

The not so good:

Had to pull the blanket off the other bed as the blankets were not wide enough to cover two people.
Kind of thought I would be on the first floor because of the dog, but I was put on the second floor.
WIFI coverage did not cover the entire room.
70s heat lamp in the bathroom
No bedskirts on the box springs
Dark
Ice machine broken.

All in all, a good place to crash when you are road weary, but I would not make it a habit. If I were passing through again, I may consider spending a bit more and going somewhere else. Just needs some updating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyhuber, Owner at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for writing and sharing your comments, You have furthed my resolve to have this remodeling done as quickly as possible. As you may have noticed we are doing work inside and outside, adding an indoor pool and remodeling all rooms. Sorry about the ice machine going down, but we need to direct our guests to an ice machine that is still working. Hope all your travels are enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncanville
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I were traveling with our Chihuahua so pet friendly hotels were a must. The Brimark had mostly positive reviews on TA but not without some "issues." The location is not ideal and some nearby road work detours make it not easy to find. Our room was at the far rear exit furthest away from the front desk and we though this was our "reward" for having a dog. We were pleasantly surprised to find a clean, well appointed room, clean bathroom and very comfortable beds. The internet connection was excellent. The hotel is still in the midst of renovation. The pool has been dug out and is being replaced. The central pool/walkway area is filled with workmen and the external walls are being repainted. Despite these temporary inconveniences the hotel still functions well. The breakfast in a cozy clean location was above average. The major drawback was the totally inadequate room lighting which was no more than two bedside lamps. The Brimark is still a work in progress but it is clean, comfortable and guest friendly. It is excellent value for money and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. There is NO PUNISHMENT for having a pet , but there is a grassy area in the back that makes a good potty spot, hope it worked out for your Chihuahua.. Glad that the construction did not present any real noise or inconvenience either. Our construction company doesn't start until 9 a.m. and stops at 6 p.m. so that they will not disturb our guests. Thank you for choosing us and we hope you will return soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here after realizing that I had messed up hotel reservations by a night at a different location. The price was agreeable, being half the price per night of my original hotel. The room and service were more than I had expected for the low cost of the stay. Clean, spacious and modern room - and FREE wifi. Courteous staff. Definitely a great find.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We are pleased that we provided you with a comfortable stay. This is what we are trying our hardest to achieve. We know you have many choices for lodging in this area and are very happy you chose us. Thank you again, Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentry hot breakfast.Presently building an indoor pool with waterslide expected opening august 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.