We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget shouldn't mean disgusting shower tile” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Save Saved
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Warren, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Budget shouldn't mean disgusting shower tile”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The location next to a camping trailer storage yard and its half-lit sign were not great omens. Lots of landscaping work in early stages (no plants, but piles of dirt being managed) looked iffy, but the building exterior appeared promising. Our room had attractive furniture and carpet, and a first glance into the bathroom showed a new sink and toilet and gleaming chrome and glass shelves, but the mold/mildew along tile grout lines and greying bathtub floor dropped a bomb into our estimation of this place. How such a room could be rented is beyond me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Wow, we certainly did not do our best or even half best for you. If your bathroom was that bad you have every reason to be annoyed. What is so weird is that part was so shiny clean and the rest terrible Maybe they only partially cleaned the room. We are making every effort to make sure nothing like this happens again and have beefed up room inspections. Please accept our apologies. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    77
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
72
68
18
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Brimark offers an unbelievable value. The location was easy to access. Front desk staff welcomed my party and were very professional and helpful. We found the rooms to be tastefully updated and super clean. The amphibious travelers enjoyed the large outdoor pool. There were a few rough edges like dirty windows in entry ways and landsacape contructions near pool ( no coffe cups in rooms), But nothing which affected our stay. Overall excellent value that we will use on future trips!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We really enjoy hearing from our guests .We are trying hard to provide you with a clean comfortable room at a reasonable price. Our staff are a great bunch of people who really care about our guests. Hope you come back and see the new improvements. Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Montana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

You won't find a better combination of value, cleanliness, friendly service and good breakfast.

This was a real find. We did some quick looking on the phone on our way home from Iowa and found some promising reviews for the Brimark. We were not disappointed. Thank you fellow TA reviewers!

Front desk staff very nice and helpful. It's obvious the staff care about presenting the property well.

The room was clean, and included a refrigerator and nice TV. Bathroom was small but nice. I only have two minor complaints on the room - 1. dim lighting and 2. I found 2 empty drink bottles under the bed. The empty bottles tell me they aren't checking everything over when cleaning the room.

Pool was very large and nice. Only complaint here was the extreme heat of the water. This is summertime; there is no need to heat the pool! My wife felt it and refused to get in. I swam for a few minutes and got too hot so climbed out.

Breakfast was excellent compared to other 'free' buffets. The staff running the buffet were very friendly and service-oriented.

Plenty of well-lit parking.

At the end of the stay, I thought I had received excellent value for what I paid.

This is definitely where I will stay on any future trips through Sioux Falls.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We are doing some really big renovations now that the summer season has ended. The pool is no longer here. We have removed it and made a beautiful courtyard where it was. We will soon break ground for the new addition which will house our new indoor pool, spa, children's spray area and large waterslide . We are all very excited and hope you will come back and see all the changes spring 2014. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed August 11th on the way to yellowstone. Friendly front desk staff, clean rooms. The bed was comfortable and the water pressure was average. The air conditioner was so loud it woke me and my 9 year old up every time it kicked in. There is no elevator so we had to lug our suitcases up the steps. The pool was great and they furnished some noodles which my kids loved. The location is a bit sketchy. There is an abandoned lot next store that something needs to be done with. Breakfast was great...when we finally got to eat. We waited in line for 10 minutes and then kitchen worker Sharon told me and my 9 year old we had to get shoes on. There is no signage and we have never had a problem wearing socks when eating breakfast at other hotels. I tried to explain to Sharon that my 4 year old and husband were still asleep and we didn't want to wake them by going into the room but she ignored me and walked away. Kitchen staff was catering to a large bus of elderly tourists so clearly they were the priority over families with children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please come back and try us again. We are still renovating and you will be happy to hear we are putting in an elevator. We also are adding an addition with an indoor pool, spa, small children's play area and a large waterslide.. We have a new courtyard with a grill area for our guests, It is very family friendly. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

First night out on a 10 day western trip. Arrived late and check in was fast and simple. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Nice TV and the bathroom was clean. Great room for the money. Easy access off the interstate.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is very rewarding to know we provided you with the kind of stay that made your trip enjoyable. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was very happy with how nicely updated this hotel is. It was very clean and friendly. The breakfast was great, with a lot of selections, from waffles, to biscuits and gravy. Parking was very convenient. We were very happy and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, Front Office Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate your business! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkaska, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were pleasantly suprised with this little find. A great price for a great room. Very clean & comfortable beds. Front desk was very nice & accomodating. The breakfast was decent. Dont be turned away by the outside as all the rooms are all refurnished! Very nice! Would stay there again if passing through!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for staying with us. The exterior will be upgraded this winter, hopefully the next time you come through you won't recognize us. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentry hot breakfast.Presently building an indoor pool with waterslide expected opening august 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.