We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brimark Inn

Save Saved
You added Brimark Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Brimark Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
Florence, Montana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

You won't find a better combination of value, cleanliness, friendly service and good breakfast.

This was a real find. We did some quick looking on the phone on our way home from Iowa and found some promising reviews for the Brimark. We were not disappointed. Thank you fellow TA reviewers!

Front desk staff very nice and helpful. It's obvious the staff care about presenting the property well.

The room was clean, and included a refrigerator and nice TV. Bathroom was small but nice. I only have two minor complaints on the room - 1. dim lighting and 2. I found 2 empty drink bottles under the bed. The empty bottles tell me they aren't checking everything over when cleaning the room.

Pool was very large and nice. Only complaint here was the extreme heat of the water. This is summertime; there is no need to heat the pool! My wife felt it and refused to get in. I swam for a few minutes and got too hot so climbed out.

Breakfast was excellent compared to other 'free' buffets. The staff running the buffet were very friendly and service-oriented.

Plenty of well-lit parking.

At the end of the stay, I thought I had received excellent value for what I paid.

This is definitely where I will stay on any future trips through Sioux Falls.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Brimark Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We are doing some really big renovations now that the summer season has ended. The pool is no longer here. We have removed it and made a beautiful courtyard where it was. We will soon break ground for the new addition which will house our new indoor pool, spa, children's spray area and large waterslide . We are all very excited and hope you will come back and see all the changes spring 2014. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    58
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
49
51
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed August 11th on the way to yellowstone. Friendly front desk staff, clean rooms. The bed was comfortable and the water pressure was average. The air conditioner was so loud it woke me and my 9 year old up every time it kicked in. There is no elevator so we had to lug our suitcases up the steps. The pool was great and they furnished some noodles which my kids loved. The location is a bit sketchy. There is an abandoned lot next store that something needs to be done with. Breakfast was great...when we finally got to eat. We waited in line for 10 minutes and then kitchen worker Sharon told me and my 9 year old we had to get shoes on. There is no signage and we have never had a problem wearing socks when eating breakfast at other hotels. I tried to explain to Sharon that my 4 year old and husband were still asleep and we didn't want to wake them by going into the room but she ignored me and walked away. Kitchen staff was catering to a large bus of elderly tourists so clearly they were the priority over families with children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Brimark Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please come back and try us again. We are still renovating and you will be happy to hear we are putting in an elevator. We also are adding an addition with an indoor pool, spa, small children's play area and a large waterslide.. We have a new courtyard with a grill area for our guests, It is very family friendly. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

First night out on a 10 day western trip. Arrived late and check in was fast and simple. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Nice TV and the bathroom was clean. Great room for the money. Easy access off the interstate.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Brimark Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is very rewarding to know we provided you with the kind of stay that made your trip enjoyable. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was very happy with how nicely updated this hotel is. It was very clean and friendly. The breakfast was great, with a lot of selections, from waffles, to biscuits and gravy. Parking was very convenient. We were very happy and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, Front Office Manager at Brimark Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate your business! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkaska, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were pleasantly suprised with this little find. A great price for a great room. Very clean & comfortable beds. Front desk was very nice & accomodating. The breakfast was decent. Dont be turned away by the outside as all the rooms are all refurnished! Very nice! Would stay there again if passing through!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Brimark Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for staying with us. The exterior will be upgraded this winter, hopefully the next time you come through you won't recognize us. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

At times we are leery to stay at off name hotels because so often it is merely a dilapidated hotel with a thin coat of fresh paint. As we first arrived we were in for a pleasant surprise.

While it is a far from a new hotel, it has been well updated, clean and appears to have had a decorators touch. We stayed on two separate occasions and were greeted by extremely friendly and helpful front desk staff. Kudos to the recommended pizza joint.

Breakfast was good but somewhat limited selection.

My only complaint is that the rooms were dark. They need to put higher wattage bulbs in the dark lamp shades.

We will most diffidently stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Brimark Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I agree with you on the lamp shapes being dark and darkening the room we are working on a solution. We are so please all else at the hotel meet or exceeded your expectations. Best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Folks, don't let the outside fool you. This is NOT a "drive by and go to a chain hotel" moment. This entire property has been upgraded...the only thing not new in my room was the tub and the phone. EVERYTHING else was new! I've stayed in Hiltons that weren't as nice. It is very obvious the owners take a lot of pride in customer service and this carries over to their employees. Quiet, clean, great breakfast...and at a great price. They have an outside pool which is kept very warm and clean...it's one if the few nice deep pools left. Great stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Brimark Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is comments like yours that we strive for and really why we are in business. I am sorry to say we have closed the outdoor pool but am happy to announce we are building a new indoor one.. Happy future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brimark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brimark Inn

Also Known As:
Brimark Hotel
Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#4 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brimark Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a small waterfall with a large area for group gatherings. Refrigerators, coffeee makers, flat screen T.V.s in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentry hot breakfast.Presently building an indoor pool with waterslide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Brimark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brimark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.