We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
St Teresa, Fl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Super value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We love this place! Super people, superior cleanliness, extremely comfortable bed, and lots of room in our King room. We booked online directly with the hotel and got a further discount on arrival on request. There is a heated outside pool which looked immaculate and a better than average breakfast. We highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Call direct and ask-staff is more than wiling to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the excellent review. Several of our staff watch for the reviews and are so excited when we get such a nice one. It really gives them that extra special pat on the back and they really appreciate it. Wishing you all the best. Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    89
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
90
85
21
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel was perfect for one-night stay driving west to the Black Hills. Everything about this hotel is nice, including the price. Be sure to book a room by calling the hotel directly – 605.332.2000. The internet hotel sites jack up the price.

The bed was excellent. Flat-screen television. The so-called continental breakfast was better than the standard fare. I wish I'd had time to check out the outdoor heated pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
WOW, a million thanks for all the kind words. 5 circles is a wonderful score. We are so happy we were able to make your stay an excellent one. Hope you have time to come back and use the pool, it will be open till labor day. Safe travels, Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Newly remodeled room, delicious breakfast, clean and updated pool area all made this a terrific experience. It's obvious that the new owners are doing a lot of great updates. A couple wrinkles: our WiFi connection was inconsistent, and at one point we requested an additional chair for our room but it wasn't delivered. Overall, minor issues compared to the great value and clean, updated facility. We will certainly be back (soon!).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. It is so appreciated by all the staff. We do try to give you a pleasant stay. So sorry about the internet , we really thought we had that fixed. I have no explanation about the chair, I apologize that we didn't take care of it though. Glad to hear you will be returning soon. We got the concrete all done in front and it looks great so it will be something new for you to see. Thanks for staying with us. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but don't judge a book by its cover! Our room was clean and recently renovated. The outdoor heated pool was a real treat after driving all day. The staff at the front desk was just as friendly as the reviews I had read. The free breakfast was delicious and included make your own Belgian waffles and scrambled eggs, as well as many other choices. You absolutely can't beat the price - we were able to get a room for about $75 on a Wed. night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Wow another 5 circle rating. Thank you , thank you. We are happy to see that we are reaching our goal of providing an attractive ,clean room at a good value. Our outdoor heated pool has been very popular this summer. Our exterior is due for a complete revamp starting in September so be sure and come this way again and see the improvements. Thank you for staying with us and safe travels. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the outside fool you. Brimark Inn has recently been remodeled and was very nice, clean and the staff friendly; all at a great price! The king mattress was very comfy, not too soft or firm. The breakfast was simple, but more than most offer for a continental breakfast; I even made due with being gluten free (although I am not intolerant, but sensitive) with yogurt and corn flakes.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
What a nice review, we are so happy to have made your stay pleasurable. I had not thought about gluten free and will do some checking to see if there is something I can do for this. It seems to be more people all the time have issues with gluten. Our outside appearance is due for an upgrade this fall, in fact they are redoing the concrete under our portico today. This is definitely a work in progress. Thank you for staying with us. Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I made my reservations here as a result of reading trip advisor comments. The curb appeal was pretty good and the interior was as nice. New paint, ceiling tiles and carpet in the hallways was a pleasant sight. The rooms have been updated with nice carpeting, artwork and marble in the bathrooms. Cool sinks and fresh Accessories make the room more attractive. Comfy beds in multiple pillows made sleep come easy. The property is right next to Highway 29 make it easily accessible on the north and south. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We are happy you had an excellent stay. We really strive to provide our guests with the best service and cleanest rooms possible at a good value. We promise to continue to improve. Hope you get back this way again. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel has been recently renovated and is very conveniently located near I-90, I-29, and the airport. Our room was spacious, quiet, and newly decorated. It was nice to have a fridge in the room. The heated outdoor pool is nice and private. Breakfast is complimentary, basic, but adequate. You must go a few more exits to reach shopping and restaurants, but it is definitely worth it considering the prices of other hotels in Sioux Falls. It will definitely be at the top of our list the next time we stay in the area!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the great review. You mentioned our renovation. It is a work in progress, with changes constantly occurring. We will be starting our new addition soon and it has us all excited. Hope you can come back again soon and check on our progress. Thanks for staying with us. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.