We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel! A remodeled hotel done correctly! A+” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
S. Central South Dakota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel! A remodeled hotel done correctly! A+”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 10 nights while in town working. Modern rooms, clean, professional & a fair nightly rate. All concrete building makes for a quiet nights sleep. What more could you ask for in a hotel? I'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
What a nice review. Repeat guests are what we strive for. Knowing we have given you the kind of stay you wanted makes us very happy. See you soon. Donna Gratzfeld ,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    91
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
95
85
21
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through with our baby. I called ahead and the staff was extremely accommodating. The rooms were redecorated - paint job, bedding, furniture and flat screen. There was free wifi and breakfast. We also had access to the gym and laundry facilities on site. Perfect for a family on a road trip!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy to have made your stay enjoyable. Happy travels. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We chose to stay at the Brimark after reading so many good reviews. The low price made us ponder our decision but glad we made the reservations after staying there. The room was very clean and had been updated recently. The beds were comfortable, nice flat screen tv and great WiFi service. Bathroom was a bit small but was very clean and nicely appointed. The entire staff was very helpful and nice. Breakfast was average but did have hot gravy and bisciuts.

One suggestion I would make to the management would be to install a bit more substantial lock on the window. The one on there now would make it fairly easy for someone to open.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased we can provide a lovely , clean room at an affordable price We appreciate the input on the window locks and checked on them today. Thank you again, hope to see you back soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We chose the Brimark Inn from the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. Close to the interstate for our overnight stay. The room was clean and spacious. Staff very friendly and helpful. They were able to offer suggestions for dinner options as we booked in late. We did have trouble the wifi( I think that was probably due the large number of teenagers staying in the hotel that night- overloaded). Great breakfast in a quaint breakfast area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Sorry the Wi-Fi was a little slow. We did have a house full of high school kids, about 6 different schools were represented. We have been beefing our system up the last few weeks. hope the next time you stay this will no longer be an issue. We appreciate all the nice comments and wish you happy travels. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a short time prior to a morning flight out of FSD. I was simply shocked and amazed with how much nicer the hotel was than expected after the recent renovation...would recommend to anyone looking for a room in Sioux Falls that doesn't want to spend $100 per night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
The fact you were SHOCKED made me THRILLED. It is so fun to hear the kind words from our guests. It is very fulfilling to know you have made people happy. We all work hard to make your stay as enjoyable as we can. Thank you for the great review and taking the time to write it. Donna Gratzfeld General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

After reading the online reviews I decided to give Brimark a shot. I was staying while my mom was in the hospital. While it was a few mile drive from the hospital, it was worth the drive. It looks a bit rundown on the outside, but the room was very clean. New carpet, bedding etc. Decent breakfast and quiet environment other than airport noise. But that was not bad. Staff were very kind and helpful. In fact when my sister came to take over "mom" duty and paid for another night, we found out the hospital staff decided to discharge Mom that day. The staff were very kind and credited her account. Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you, ask for a room away from the traffic for a more quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope your Mother is doing well. We are aware of the out side appearance being a little dated. Wait till you see it after phase 2 of our remodel! We have some exciting changes coming. Thank you for the review and come see us again sonn. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchwood
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location, right off the interstate without a traffic problem, near the airport, and in a quiet area. I was greeted by a friendly employee and a quick checkin and given a room chocie. The room appeared to be recently renovated, was clean and roomy. My first surprise was the Wifi, unlike most hotels I received a strong signal that didn't disappear as more people checked in and got online. I did find that the room didn't have the usual binder with hotel/area info which led to 1 problem.....how to set the radio alarm. Without an engineering degree (or a child present) I was at a lose and had to ask for a wake-up call. Fortunately I was awake before the scheduled call that didn't come, but an alert clerk noticed that I hadn't answered the wakeup call and personally came to my room to make sure I was up! My only complaint would be the large gap between the bottom of the door and the floor, nearly an inch. FYI for $9 you can park and fly. Although they don't have a shuttle they do provide taxi service to and from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. we have been adding more strength to our wireless so were glad to hear it worked well for you. Our park-n -fly is very popular as there is no charge to leave your vehicle in our front lot. Hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld , General ,Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.