We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room for a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice room for a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The location is not great, not near the downtown area, but everything else makes up for it. New renovations and a very attractive price made this the best value we've found on our cross country trip. Only 4 miles to downtown where there are lots of restaurants. A definite must stay for the Sioux Falls area traveler.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to write us a review, we really appreciate hearing from you. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Donna Gratzfeld , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    94
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
99
89
24
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I arrived in Sioux Falls from Phoenix AZ to attend my fathers funeral. I arrived in the midst of an ice storm in which 35,000 homes had lost power, and I was stranded. I called the Brimark from the airport and they had one room left, I took it! Due to the storm transportation was limited and the owner offered to pick me up at the airport. The Brimark was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were clean and beautiful. I ended up taking the only room left which was a king and had a full sized hot tub ...wow! The staff was so helpful and kind. Everyone went out of their way to make my stay wonderful. Thank you Randy and all of the staff for the kindness and going out of your way to make a difficult time easier. So stay here, it is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are so pleased we could be of help when you were going thru such a difficult time. What a mess everything in the city was that day.Randy was more than happy to pick you up, we operate like what we are, a family owned business. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we know other travelers appreciate and read them, because we are often told, "we picked you because of the reviews on tripadvisor." thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, Genera lManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANKENY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here one night recently on my way home from a long trip. I selected it based on the good reviews on Trip Advisor and the low price per room. This place is a WOW for $59.95/night. For this price, I received pleasant service, a large room with a king bed, and a clean, nicely remodeled room. Furthermore, they allow pets for only $10 per night. The Brimark is only a minute off the interstate too, but no noise from the road was heard. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone visiting or passing through Sioux Falls. My only complaint was that the room was a little dark--perhaps brighter lights in the room or a light just overhead near the door would help--hard to see right inside the door when you come in.

Room Tip: King room is large and spacious with a nice leather chair
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Your big WOW made our day. We agree with you about the lighting. We made a mistake in choosing the furnishings in the rooms. While the green shades on the lamps are very attractive they seem to dim the lighting. We are working on this and hope to resolve it soon. Please come see us again . Donna Gratzfeld, Gemeral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Quite a nice hotel with great service and very clean. Right off the freeway but not noisy. Recently remodeled and well done. The breakfast was good with nice selection of foods. Front desk girls were really nice and friendly. Good place to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to thank you for such a nice review . We will keep trying to give all our guests an enjoyable stay. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager, Brimark Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

It is an older place that has been recently remodeled everything was new bed, sheets, tv, carpeting, ex. Only thing old was the sink and tub but it was all clean. The breakfast was great, the lady wanted to clean the waffle iron everytime someone used it:) would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review. Next time you stop in we should have all the sinks and vanities replaced. It is an ongoing renovation. Its fun to see the improvements daily. Donna Graztzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walls Ms
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

When we arrived , the lady at desk was very friendly and helpful, very nice lobby, the rooms were very affordable, and very clean an very spacious for 2 adults an 3 children, beds not to hard or to soft. I would stay there again if I ever go back to Sioux falls. the breakfast was gravy an biscuits, but had to warm biscuits but very tasty. had donuts , honey buns ,juices, waffles you made . You could not beat this place for price an cleanness any where. Very quiet

Room Tip: we had a room with 2 queens an non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you! So happy we made your stay a pleasant one. We think our breakfast is good too. My faveroite is the biscuits and gravy. The gravy is seasoned just right and has lots of sausage in it. Hope to see you again. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Recently we had a group of family stay at the Brimark Due to a death in the family. From the initial contact with Herick to the last person left 6 days later we have heard nothing but compliments about the very tastefully redecorated rooms and the attention to detail. The beds were very comfortable, housekeeping greeted you with friendly smiles and true cncern for making the stay enjoyable. In the mornings the lady who worked in the kitchen always asked if all of our people had eaten and even one day kept it open a little later to accomodate a couple of stragglers. I used the wifi and never had a glitch. For a group that had about 9-10 rooms occupied, to not hear a complaint about anything is incredible. My thanks especially to the staff, one of which expressed her condolences for our loss. You can have the nicest facility, and if the employees are not on the same page, it all is for nothing. This facility hit a home run with us. I have stayed in 5 stars that did not meet their level of service.

Room Tip: No one had a bad room. The quality of the remodeling construction was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. With all you had to do with the death of your loved ones, the fact that you took the time to write a review is truly remarkable We were happy to be able to be of service to you. You were all as special to us as we were to you. It is very easy to be kind to such nice people. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. Waterpark is for registered guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.