We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phnom Penh Restaurant Asian Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Phnom Penh Restaurant Asian Cuisine
1010 N. Minnesota Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
6053323935
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 328 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Price range: $1 - $19
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Delivery
Pipestone
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

After reading about the Restaurant in the Argus Leader newspaper, stopped there last week and tried the food. The meal I had was called Kho Sach Chrouk (I had it with pork) was excellent and the portion was so large that I could not eat it all and had to take the remainder home.
The service was excellent - fast and friendly. I would recommend this restaurant and will stop there again in the near future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sioux falls
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hope this guy makes it in a cursed location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Owner is server ( and I'd bet many other things too ). He's a nice man. Eager to help and please. The food was somewhat familiar, and also there were several dishes I've never see. And, plan to try. I've been 'down' on our choices for Asian food lately. This place helps make things better.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Phonominal Cambodia family cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This family owned and run established was a welcome surprise in SD. The traditional family cuisine is excellent. I recommend the caramelized pork. The flavors are uniquely Cambodian. This restaurant is a must visit in Sioux Falls
While the decor is nothing to write home about, the service more than makes up for the ordinary surroundings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha, Wisconsin
1 review
“Surprising find in Sioux Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I reviewed restaurants in Sioux Falls as we approached the city on our way back from visiting relatives. My first pick was closed on Mondays so we went with trying out Cambodian food. What a find: We had a great meal and great service and yes the food was authentic Cambodian cuisine. I had ribs and sticky rice while hubby had the banh chao (crepes filled with meat and beansprouts). Great all around casual dining place, not pretentious in any way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasPlaces
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Tasty dishes, friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The family operating this restaurant was very friendly and welcoming. The atmosphere is simple and the foods are very similar to that prepared by the Khmer populated area of southern Vietnam. My party had the Lok Lak Steak ($11.99), which is cubes of steak in a black peppery sauce served with lettuce, tomato and onion, and the classic Hot Pot for Two, or Ya-Hon ($19.99 for two). We ordered the Hot Pot because its fun. A single burner is place in the middle of the table with a pot of tasty broth in which the patrons cook a plate of beef, sausage, quail eggs, seafood, vegetables and greens. One of the two photos that someone posted on TA is of this type of plate. It was enjoyable and tasty. Very nice. Located about half way between the nearby airport and downtown in a strip mall. Good enough to be on the short list of interesting, modestly priced eateries in Sioux Falls. Thanks for adding some variety to SE Asian dining in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phnom Penh Restaurant Asian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Phnom Penh Restaurant Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phnom Penh Restaurant Asian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.