We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food with great ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acoustic - CLOSED

Acoustic
196 E 6th St, Suite 101, Sioux Falls, SD
605.332.2236
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $11
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Pizza, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Beautifully remodeled space in historic building downtown is locally owned and family-run. Excellent reviews from guests with accolades for service, atmosphere and quality food. We insist that some of the most satisfying meals are those that seem to be the simplest.With a daily menu focused on gourmet 'old school' pizzas and fresh ground, hand-pattied gourmet burgers you are sure to find a few items that you crave. All our dressings and sauces are from scratch and our 'Surf & Turf Caesar' salad is quickly becoming legendary. CARRYOUT Food, Beer and Wine....332-2236 Ask for daily specials!Our gameroom and special event facility offer flexibility and more good times to our guests and in the summers, there's an amazing view from our patio!Come down and see why our guests are all so happy!
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing food with great ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Excellent food, great ambiance, great hosts, in a beautiful part of town. Some times seems a bit empty year is a great place for group gatherings.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“***CLOSED***”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

They are currently closed. Apparently, they will reopen in the future at a different location, however.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A catered party to beat all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Last night, I attended an industry holiday party that was utterly outstanding. The format included a four course meal served a various parts if the building. Each course had a wine and beer paring specific to the course. The amuse bouch was a shooter of carrot/squash soup with ginger. The appetizer consisted of three delectable small plates. The main meal was a mozzarella stuffed ravioli and the desserts were truffles and an awesome chocolate wine and beer. The owner presented the meal and it was an amazing experience. I recommend this restaurant for a conventional meal or creating a special event.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sometimes it's right in front of your nose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Quickly -

Sioux Falls isn't a Foodie paradise. There are a few - a few - restaurants that are pretty greatt but anything new is usually full of pretension or a franchise.

Tonight, we went to Acoustic on the repeated recommendation of a few people and...it's awesome!

The menu is small and the choices aren't exactly exotic cuisine...but it's solid! I had a pizza - thin crust with a braided heel; it was almost Napoli style with oil, garlic and thin toppings only it wasn't greasy, overpowering or skimpy. I got to sample the Brisket BBQ and though it arrived with the presentation of a small-town diner, the flavor was outstanding! Lean meat, rich sauce...and please. Don't tell me that those sweet potato fries are anything but home made...because I wouldn't believe it if they weren't; crisp, light breading...

Our service was excellent; she knew the menu up/down and made recommendations based on her experience. I like that as it shows the Help care about their craft. Food came on time, hot food hot, cold food cold...as expected.

Wine was fairly priced but our bottle was off...and it really didn't matter because the rest of the meal was awesome.

The Sangria is supposedly awesome but I'm not a fan. Not that that matters as I don't like sangria anyway.

Pricing is right in-line with anything from the franchises to mid-level restaurants - expect an $18 ticket pp with drinks, tax and tip.

However, it's rare that a restaurant is excellent and even rarer that you leave wondering if the rest of the menu is made with such care. We will be back to try the rest.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I have been there three times in the last 30 days. The servers are Fun - Food is even better. (Always consider Chef Josh's Special Of The Day - and hope there is some left when you get there.)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acoustic also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acoustic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.