We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a nature walk and to learn about wildlife” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Outdoor Campus

The Outdoor Campus
Sertoma Park, 4500 S Oxbow Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106-4114
605-362-2777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 21 Attractions in Sioux Falls
Type: Educational Sites, Science Museums, Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Aquariums, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature museum, aquarium, butterfly garden and classes for everyone to learn about the outdoors.
South Dakota
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great place for a nature walk and to learn about wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Outdoor Campus is a great place to visit or attend their free classes. My daughter loves it so much she asked to go there for her 4th birthday! They have a huge fish you can walk through and see what the inside of a fish looks like, a little camping area set up (inside) for kids to play in. My daughter loves to sit in the canoe (on the ground) and pretend to fish with their rods, stuffed fish, and life jackets. They also have aquariums with live fish, frogs, snakes, salamanders, etc. Outside they have some areas for children to play, walking trails, garden that attracts butterflies, pond, and a lot of bird feeders. It is a great place to get your children and/or family outside to enjoy nature! We visit at least once a month! Best of all it is FREE!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I love to visit the Outdoor Campus. It is a great opportunity to learn about our prairie environment or to just stop and listen to the birds sing.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A gem in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is an exceptional experience for young and old. They work hard at creating experiences for all ages to enjoy. Put this on your list of places to visit when in Sioux Falls.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very cool playground for the kids, with a unique picnic area and play ground equipment.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty6500
2 reviews
“Forgotten Treasure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Ok so I took my daughter here thinking she would love it and have so much fun and to my surprise it was falling apart. Inside the carpets need to be stretched or replaced all together the exhibits are falling apart the sound functions didn't work half the lights didn't work on the push button exhibits and we say a frogs and a snake in small aquariums. I was so disappointed. Then we go out side and it's beautiful however there must have been cross country practice or something because we try to go to the bridge which my daughters favorite part only to get pushed to the side by 3 very rude boys. When we do gt to the bridge their was nonstop running and jogging across the bridge. We finally just left. Normally the out side is our favorite and we come many times during the summer but this is the first time is a long time that we have went in and wow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Outdoor Campus also viewed

 

Been to The Outdoor Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Outdoor Campus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.