We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run of the mill history museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pettigrew Home & Museum

Pettigrew Home & Museum
131 N. Duluth Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
605-367-7097
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 30 Attractions in Sioux Falls
Type: Historic Sites, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Restored 1889 Queen Anne style home of South Dakota's first senator, R.F. Pettigrew.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Run of the mill history museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I would like to clarify that we didn't stay long enough for the tour.

The house itself is nice, but honestly isn't even the best sight in the historic district. Basically, this is a good stop for a history of Sioux Falls, but unless that tiny grain of world history is going to rivet you, you'd be better off spending your time somewhere else. It is nice that it's free and near St. Joe's, but it doesn't offer the same experience as the Pavilion or the Outdoor Campus, which are also free and in town. My opinion would be to skip it for time other places.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
staunton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

the museum was interesting. would have liked to linger in the house a little longer. beautiful home. our tour guide was new and every comment and sentence started with "umm" which was very distracting.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beautiful old home well preserved. Gives a good idea of what likfe was like for the wealthy during the 1920's. Tour guide was informative. Takes less than half hour for tour and well worth a stop.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We enjoyed our time at the Pettigrew mansion & museum. Our guide was quite enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Their hours are good, the price was right and we would recommend the experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This museum was very interesting to walk through. The staff that gave the tour was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly even though we came in late in the day and not long before closing time. Would highly recommend taking the time to walk through.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pettigrew Home & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pettigrew Home & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pettigrew Home & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.