We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restoration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Courthouse Museum

Old Courthouse Museum
6th & Main St, Sioux Falls, SD
605 367 4210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 61 things to do in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautifully restored 1800s quartzite building has three floors of regional history exhibits.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
176 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice restoration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Did a quick tour (walk through) of the museum after enjoying the Sculpture Walk. Some very interesting displays. Enjoyed the information on the uses of buffalo by the indians, the "chairs" display, and many other pieces. Worthwhile to stop by here when in the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A beautiful plce for a reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had our reception for our wedding in the museum and the staff was amazing! They kept the exhibits open for us so that people who didn't want to dance could look around. Others from out of town said it was nice to be able to see some history from the area as well as a beautiful site for the reception. We took a lot of pictures and the staff was so great to work with. Not only do I recommend this for a visit but I also recommend this site for any gatherings you might want to do. This place is beautiful and amazing. They take donations in order to keep going so I recommend giving a little something back to this amazing place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sioux falls
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine museum. Been here dozens of times.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Only negative thing I can say is: too bad it isn't four/five times larger ! I would not be surprised if they had 100X more items in storage than able to present.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We loved this museum. It was open on Sunday, which was great for us. The museum is small if you compare it to NY, but for the area, I was very impressed. Definitely worth going out of the way for. The staff were super friendly. And we learned something about the US Flag along the way. What more could you ask for?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worth A Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This museum is located in an impressive old Gothic style building. Very good restoration and the museum has good displays of Sioux Falls history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Courthouse Museum also viewed

 

Been to Old Courthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Courthouse Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.