We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful plce for a reception” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Courthouse Museum

Old Courthouse Museum
6th & Main St, Sioux Falls, SD
605 367 4210
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 60 things to do in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautifully restored 1800s quartzite building has three floors of regional history exhibits.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A beautiful plce for a reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had our reception for our wedding in the museum and the staff was amazing! They kept the exhibits open for us so that people who didn't want to dance could look around. Others from out of town said it was nice to be able to see some history from the area as well as a beautiful site for the reception. We took a lot of pictures and the staff was so great to work with. Not only do I recommend this for a visit but I also recommend this site for any gatherings you might want to do. This place is beautiful and amazing. They take donations in order to keep going so I recommend giving a little something back to this amazing place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sioux falls
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fine museum. Been here dozens of times.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Only negative thing I can say is: too bad it isn't four/five times larger ! I would not be surprised if they had 100X more items in storage than able to present.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We loved this museum. It was open on Sunday, which was great for us. The museum is small if you compare it to NY, but for the area, I was very impressed. Definitely worth going out of the way for. The staff were super friendly. And we learned something about the US Flag along the way. What more could you ask for?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Worth A Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This museum is located in an impressive old Gothic style building. Very good restoration and the museum has good displays of Sioux Falls history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were VERY pleased with our visit to the Old Courthouse. It was self-guided and very worthwhile. It was much more than we expected. We liked how they utilized different rooms with different themes. Their Vietnam room was well done. I also enjoyed the "bicycle room". It was well worth our time. We did this one along with the Pettigrew House.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Courthouse Museum also viewed

 

Been to Old Courthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Courthouse Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.