We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pettigrew house wins my vote” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Courthouse Museum

Old Courthouse Museum
6th & Main St, Sioux Falls, SD
605 367 4210
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 Attractions in Sioux Falls
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautifully restored 1800s quartzite building has three floors of regional history exhibits.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pettigrew house wins my vote”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

You cannot beat a free museum first of all. So the price is definitely right and there are some very interesting exhibits at the Museum. However they also run the Pettigrew house and I found that to be more interesting and educational in regards to the local area and the 1 on 1 tour was exceptional

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Three Museums in One”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

There will be a variety of Displays to choose from. Take them all in. When you're done, go across the street and have a burger.
Well worth a trip downtown.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souix Falls
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“one of the best museums. but it is haunted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

i went here with a group of friends seeing if we could (as the teenage mind can see as ghosts) we did have some luck with a mysterious fog and a deep growling on the 2nd and 3rd floors of this building so i give you all a warning go at your own risk. but as a museum it is one of the best around.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Worth a quick stop downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Popped into the museum as we were wrapping up our day in SF. A variety of different (if oddly selected) displays..there was a display on flags, one on dogs, one on winterwear, one on Vietnam, etc. Still, it's worth it to see the architecture, the murals, and the restored courtroom. Cheap onstreet parking, too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Coast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Especially liked the exhibit about the winters. Fascinating.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Courthouse Museum also viewed

 

Been to Old Courthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Courthouse Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.