We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What We Expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls to your Saves list
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3508 S Gateway Blvd, Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Omaha
1 review
“Not What We Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at AmericInn for the weekend of our grandparent's 50th anniversary. After reading online reviews, we thought it would be a nice stay for the money. Unfortunately, the room was not what we expected. The bed was very uncomfortable and the bathroom was quite outdated. We will not be staying at the AmericInn during our next trip to Sioux Falls.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy A, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We value your input, and appreciate that you took the time to let us know how we did.
We are so sorry that you weren't happy with your stay. I wish I could have talked to you and made it right with you before you left.
Again, we are sorry. Please feel free to call me directly at 605-361-3538, I would really like to see if there is anything we can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    52
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
69
36
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keewatin
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Always seem to enjoy the AmericInn properties. Nice staff......good properties, good value for the money. Too bad there aren't more properties out there! Would certainly stay again, and may ensure we get there on our way north!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy A, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We value your input, and we are so happy that you are loyal to the AmericInn brand. We will do everything we can to maintain your business, as we know you have choices when selecting a hotel in Sioux Falls.

Thank you again, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Na
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hot tub is not available regularly.
The ethics of knowingly charging for an amenity that may well not be available is a very real concern indeed. No way would other businesses get away with not delivering what was paid for. No way. Apologies for doing so are not sufficient especially and particularly in light of the fact that the problem simply need not be.
Cleaning when the pool room is closed = a real "no brainer" solution. Yet management continues to choose to not solve the problem, and instead choose to simply say "too bad, so sad, so sorry".
Truly unfortunate.
Is a bit of tarnish on AmericInn's otherwise well deserved sterling reputation in my experience thus opinion.
Will happily return though not w/o confirming in advance that what they promote - and happily charge for - will in fact be provided. For sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy A, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we do appreciate your comments. I agree with you that you did pay for that amenity, so when it wasn't available for you, I adjusted your room rate and gave you a substantial discount.
We clean our hot tub weekly according to state regulations for the safety of our guests.
I am really sorry for the inconvenience and we do take your advice seriously. Thank you again, and we are happy that you will be giving us another chance. We value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Smet
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stay at this hotel often and always appreciate the courteous staff as well as the cleanliness of the entire hotel. The rooms are clean and fresh and the pool, breakfast area, lobby and even the hallways are always neat and tidy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy A, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We try very hard to make our guests happy, and your comments will be shared with the entire staff. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Each time we visit Sioux Falls we try to stay here if there are any rooms available! It seems that it stays busy throughout the year but even when it is full we still sleep soundly and the rooms are quiet. The location is conveniently close to the mall and lots of shopping, one exit away from the theatre and easy to get on the freeway.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy A, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoy staying with us, and we will keep trying to provide the service that you expect.

Thank you again, and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at this Americinn while road tripping in June 2013. I always have good luck with Americinn as their quality seems to be consistent. This place was nice and the room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was good as well.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy A, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your feedback, and are happy that you enjoy staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at the AmericInn in Sioux Falls after not staying at this brand for a long time. We had the king suite, with a very comfy bed & pretty good pull-out. The rooms were large & the fridge was good sized too.
The room had two 32" flat screens.
The bathroom was clean & the vanity was nice & big. Our room was well taken care of by the housekeeping staff each day.
The staff was friendly & helpful when asking for advice re: local restaurants.
Hoping to go back in Nov., & will definitely book here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy A, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for our hotel. We appreciate it very much.
We are so glad that you were happy with your stay with us, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls

Address: 3508 S Gateway Blvd, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls is the ideal location for your next stay, whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. We are proud to provide the amenities you want most and deliver them at the highest level possible starting with comfortable, quieter guestrooms. Our hotel offers a variety of room types, each featuring 32” LCD flat screen TVs, including suites with whirlpools. Wake up each morning to our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and stay connected with free, hotel-wide, high-speed internet. Relax in our cozy fire-lit lobby and enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub.AmericInn Hotel and Suites is conveniently located off I-29 & 41st street in Sioux Falls, just minutes from all the area's best attractions, including the Empire Mall. During your stay, be sure to explore the area and the many riches that make it unique, from parks to culture, entertainment, shopping, sports and music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, AmericInn Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.