We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3821 West Avera Drive, Sioux Falls, SD 57108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel with one minor exception. The hotel is super clean and fresh. Rooms are very well taken care of, fresh and very clean. The only "bump" was-we wanted to use the breakfast area on saturday evening. There was a birthday party for around 15 4 to 5 year olds. We asked about renting one of the conference rooms-we even offered to pay. We were told we could not bring in outside food. Mind you this hotel has no food available. We even offered to clean the room when we were done and were still told no. Don't see why an exception could not have been made.
Overall, was a great hotel in a great area. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSDSF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and give feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. Our meeting room does not allow outside food, but we do have a catering option available to you. We do not rent out our breakfast bar area to a specific group, so it is available for all guests to use. If you could give me a call I would appreciate it so that I can gather more information about your stay and ensure we get any unresolved issues taken care of. We really look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    17
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
24
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spearfish, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband, daughter, and two sisters stayed two nights due to the passing of my sisters husband. We requested and received rooms close to each other. The front desk staff and the continental breakfast staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, in fact I didn't meet any staff members that weren't!! We will stay here again, hopefully under better circumstances, and will recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Just ask!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSDSF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for the positive feedback you gave! We are glad to hear that we accomodated your needs and made your stay pleasant even though you were here for an unfortunate circumstance. We look forward to seeing you in the future and thank you for your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sartell
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family on a Sat night while traveling home after Thanksgiving. We were very, very happy with our stay. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The pool area was great for our kids (ages 2 and 4). We will definitely stay there again the next time we are traveling through Sioux Falls!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSDSF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We appreciate all of the positive feedback and great comments about our staff and pool area. We look forward to seeing you in the future when you visit Sioux Falls!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our 2nd stay here and we were not disappointed . We got the room which I requested . Bed was very comfortable and pillows were fun to play with, which one to use to sleep this time;).
I am not sure if you guys have like "hotel manager get to know your guests"evening ,some hotels offer wine, food during an evening hours for guests. Otherwise our stay was clean, easy to get in and out. Thank you.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSDSF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback about our property and for choosing to come back and stay with us! I appreciate your suggestion and will be sure to pass it along. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I am traveling across the country with my husband and out little 9lb dog. We have been staying at Holiday Inn Expresses all across the way. I called to make tonights reservation. I asked if they were pet friendly and the reply I received was " NOOO.We are NOTTT pet friendly AT ALLL. I thought to myself "WoW!" I think I got the message LOUD AND CLEAR. That was about 2pm. Back to the hunt for a hotel chain I guess

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSDSF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I appreciate the feedback and apologize about the level of customer service that you experienced. Would you please contact me via phone in regards to the issue so I can get more information from you? I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel. If you are driving a larger vehicle like a pickup truck, you'll like this place. Lots of room for oversize vehicles. The parking stalls are pull through for those that are towing a trailer. Also lots of available curb space for those really long rigs, you know who you are :). There are , however, no restaurants close, you will have to drive to get something to eat. Certainly worth a look if your in the area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSDSF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I appreciate the positive feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to get some restaurants within the area in the near future. Please think of us the next time you are in Sioux Falls!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was my go to hotel in Sioux Falls until my last visit on September 1, 2013. I checked in and was told rooms were available on floors 1 thru 3....I told the desk clerk I had made my reservation over a month ago requesting a fourth floor room. She than found that request on the computer and did honor my request. I checked out my room and it seemed fine so I went to dinner. Upon returning, I noticed a noise in the bathroom that sounded like a circulating fan. After a couple of hours, I called the front desk to inquire what the noise was/what could be done. The phone was answered as if it was an outside call...I explained I was a guest and described the noise. The desk clerk asked me "what do you want me to do about it"? I told her I would just put up with the noise and deal with situation in the morning by speaking to the manager. The manager did offer compensation which I accepted..and she also offered compensation for my return stay which I refused and I cancelled my reservation. There has been a noticeable decline in customer service over several stays so I have found other accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSDSF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate you letting me know about the issues that you had during your stay. We did have some new staff working that night, but take these issues very seriously and it has been addressed. Also, thank you for letting us know about the fan issue; that has been taken care of as well. I am hoping that you will give us another chance to make things right for you in the future. Please let me know if there is anything I can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest

Address: 3821 West Avera Drive, Sioux Falls, SD 57108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy interstate access off of I-29 and I-229, our hotel is not only easy to find but is minutes from the Empire Mall for your shopping experience.Corporate guests looking for hotels in Sioux Falls, SD need look no further than this Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel which offers a state of the art business center, free fast high speed Internet, an expanded fitness facility with Precor equipment, and 900 square feet of meeting space. Families can enjoy a stress free trip when they stay with us in Sioux Falls, SD. At our hotel, we pride ourselves in providing you with a great location closest to the most popular attractions, including the Sertoma Butterfly House and Wild Water West Amusement Park. Our hotel has a large pool area including a Children's Splash Pool for our younger guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.