We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place To Stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3821 West Avera Drive, Sioux Falls, SD 57108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Place To Stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

After traveling all day, I was looking forward to a good nite's rest and I was not disappointed by this Holiday Inn Express. A friendly and helpful staff greets you, the room is up to date, clean, and very comfortable. The breakfast was good. It was a great place to stay in everyway. You won't go wrong by staying here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSDSF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback about our property! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    22
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
26
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We usually try to stay at Holiday Inn Expresses and this one didn't disappoint. Had everything I expect when staying at a hotel. It was in a great location right off of the interstate as well. Breakfast items were fully stocked and service was adequate. Clean rooms with comfortable beds and everything working (tv's, shower, etc.). Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSDSF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback about our hotel! We appreciate your loyalty to Holiday Inn Express and look foward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I am so picky about hotels and this hotel surpassed my picky nature! I didn't hear anyone else in their rooms, not even a shower in the morning! Rooms were exceptionally clean, honestly! Breakfast was great, I loved that the milk was in cartons instead of gross pitchers! Pool was great, my kids absolutely loved the splash pool, it was such a great one of a kind feature! This hotel is far passed a 5 star. Worth the money which by the way is not bad at all, especially for the awesome experience your getting at this hotel! The only and I mean only complaint I have is that I am a coffee drinker, I grab a glass or two through out the day and every other hotel I stay in always leaves their French vanilla creamer out for guests through out the day. Not this one they lock it up after breakfast. When I asked for a couple they wouldn't even give me a COUPLE! Which I thought was a little rude considering I am paying to stay here for four days I could get a little creamer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSDSF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I appreciate all of your positive feedback about our hotel. I apologize about not being given creamers; I will get the issue resolved and appreciate your suggestion for leaving out the french vanilla. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton, South Dakota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is our go to hotel in Sioux Falls. It's new, clean, and the staff is friendly. The pool has a kids area for younger ones plus they have a regular indoor pool. They have plenty of sitting area for breakfast. During this stay we stayed in an extended suite. It's nice having a separate bedroom from the sitting area. The parking lot has plenty of lighting. There is a Lewis Drug a couple blocks away. It's easy to locate off I229 and has plenty of choices of places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSDSF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are very honored to be your go-to hotel in Sioux Falls and appreciate your positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel was super in every way. The staff was prompt and courteous, the rooms clean and very comfortable, the location convenient, and price very reasonable. It is close to a hospital system and that seems to be a priority service for the area. My only problem was that we had to drive to a restaurant for dinner but they are building at least one in the vicinity so that minor inconvenience will be fixed. I'd stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSDSF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback about our property! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and are hoping to get more restaurants nearby in the near future! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had absolutely no complaints, it was WONDERFUL. Would stay here again in a heart beat. The king room was clean, the bed extremely comfortable. There was plenty of seating and food for breakfast. It was easy to find. We had family in the hospital and it was nice being only 4 miles from there. All the staff were helpful and courteous. It was nice having the staff smile and ask how you were doing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSDSF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I appreciate all of the positive things you have to say about the hotel. I will share this information with all of the staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Thursday and Friday night. We wanted Saturday night as well but when we made the reservation earlier, they were full so we made other arrangements for the Saturday night stay. To make the Saturday transition to the other hotel, we asked for a 1 hour late checkout which was flately denied even though I am a Priority Club member and a repeat customer. Then the manager said that she had an opening for the Saturday and she could get me in but the price was double. Very poor service and I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSDSF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I apologize about not being able to give you a late check out and want to thank you for being a priority club member. Depending on availability, we only allow a certain number of late check outs per day and unfortunately they are not guaranteed. In July we have had special events going on every weekend such as jazz fest, a number of tournaments, and big concerts such as Tim Mcgraw, REO Speedwagon, and Sheryl Crow. With events like this going on in the summer, rates do typically go up, even as much as $50. I understand you’re frustration and sincerely apologize. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest

Address: 3821 West Avera Drive, Sioux Falls, SD 57108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy interstate access off of I-29 and I-229, our hotel is not only easy to find but is minutes from the Empire Mall for your shopping experience.Corporate guests looking for hotels in Sioux Falls, SD need look no further than this Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel which offers a state of the art business center, free fast high speed Internet, an expanded fitness facility with Precor equipment, and 900 square feet of meeting space. Families can enjoy a stress free trip when they stay with us in Sioux Falls, SD. At our hotel, we pride ourselves in providing you with a great location closest to the most popular attractions, including the Sertoma Butterfly House and Wild Water West Amusement Park. Our hotel has a large pool area including a Children's Splash Pool for our younger guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.