We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3821 West Avera Drive, Sioux Falls, SD 57108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We always try to stay at Holiday Inn Express when we can. This was the best one we have stayed at - hands down. I'm assuming it is really new. Everything was pristine, sparkling clean and the rooms were really large. Very friendly staff and we were very impressed with the pool area. We've never come across an affordable hotel with a kiddie pool area before. Our 1 1/2 year old loved it! My only suggestion is that they really should put down some sort of anti-skid/padding around the kids area. It's way too slippery for little ones. There was a large selection for breakfast and it was really delicious. We would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad your one and a half year old loved our Kiddie pool. We are working to get a special surface put down in that area to help prevent kids slipping. We have the company coming out in the next two months which is the soonest we can get them out. We want the guests to feel safe when in that area. Our breakfast staff work hard to make sure our guests enjoy their breakfast. It is fabulous to hear that your family enjoyed it and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    23
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
27
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was quite pleased with my stay at this hotel. We got a free upgrade to a family suite although I had booked a double queen room. It was nice after driving 550 miles to arrive at such a clean and spacious room. The beds were comfortable and the mattresses and bedding seemed brand new and pristine.
We unfortunately didn't wake up in time to get down to the breakfast, which was fine because I was meeting a friend for an early lunch anyway.
The pool area has a really nice smaller pool for younger children. The only complaint I would have is the chlorine level in the pool room seemed quite strong (our eyes were burning into the next morning) and the noise level was insane. The regular pool was surprisingly small for such a nice, new hotel. It might not have seemed to small though if there hadn't been a group of about 10-12 pre-adolescent boys splashing and horse-playing.
Staff was friendly and helpful. The entire building is so fresh and new that it was a great experience to be there. I would recommend for anyone driving through Sioux Falls to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay. It is fantastic to hear you had such a great experience here and would recommend it to others. We really appreciate your feed back and wanting to give us that 4.5.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel last night. It was one of the best holiday inn we have stayed.
Our room was big, new, clean, and the beds were very very comfortable. Plenty of pillows for all of us.
The breakfast room was big and have a lot of tables. There were sausages, eggs, pancakes, fruits,etc. We had a great night of sleep, too bad we have to leave..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our property. It is wonderful to hear when guests would prefer not to leave and have a great night's sleep. Thank you and we look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

While on our most recent vacation to visit some National Monuments, we stopped here as a nice place to break up a 15 hr trip. The hotel was convenient to the highway, new, clean, and spacious. The hotel staff was friendly. We traveled with our 14 & 16 yo children so the room setup was very nicely laid out too. We booked a double queen with a pullout sofa. The room also had a nice sized frig & microwave with a single-cup coffee maker too. We used the well equiped workout room & ate the free breakfast the next day which included a pancake machine (press the button & a fresh pancake pops out the side within a minute), scrambled eggs, cinnamon rolls, cereal, and many others. There is an indoor pool of nice size with a seperate kids pool that has an "umbrella" with water tumbling over the top of it. While there, we visited Falls Park, where the city gets it's name, which was probably a 12 minute drive. For dinner, we did not take the recommended Bracco's, we went to Nucci's per Tripadvisor & found pretty good Italian. We walked in & my family went "what are we doing here"? I laughed because it did look like a place to go for gelato, not dinner. Mama Rita is indeed in the kitchen cooking. I teased her that she forgot to put the capers in my pasta, and she was so sorry! It was cute! She also makes the gelato. Yummy!! A fun & interesting place to eat & glad we went. Bracco's was crowded, but seemed very "chain-like".

Room Tip: We always ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is wonderful to hear our hotel met your family's needs. Thank you for taking the time to describe some of the features of our hotel that you experienced during your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future if you are in the area or just passing through. I will have to try Nucci's myself as you made the gelato sound like a good treat. I am looking forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed here twice. The staff is very nice, no snotty desk clerks like you so often find. Price was reasonable. I have young kids and they LOVE the kiddie pool. Me too - I could sit and relax along the side while they slid and splashed. My only complaint would be the extremely slick floor (which I believe they were planning to fix). Our room was upstairs just from the pool and it was very quiet. Breakfast was also good. We will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our property. It is always exciting to here how much the kids love the splash pool. I know our owners are working with the tile company to find a solution for the tile in the pool area. Thank you for continuing to stay with us. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lubbock, TX
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I liked this hotel because it's close to everything, but it's just on the other side of the expressway so it's quiet. Rooms are clean and the hotel is new, we slept well with hearing very little to no noise. The free breakfast was good too with a decent selection of what has become the norm for hotels in this price range. If I needed t stay in Sioux Falls, I would stay here a again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is wonderful to hear you slept well during your stay with us. We look forward to your future stay with us when you are in Sioux Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego ca
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while visiting family. The place is brand new so everything was great. I loved the bath towels-very soft. Even though there was what appeared to be a young boys baseball team staying on my floor, the room was quiet. The air conditioning worked well. The staff was helpful and friendly. My 15 month old grandson loved the kiddie pool but it was a bit chilly. The location was perfect for me, and there is a drugstore just 2-3 blocks away. Other shopping and places to eat are minutes away by car. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that our location was perfect for you and you go to enjoy and spend time in the pool with your grandson. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest

Address: 3821 West Avera Drive, Sioux Falls, SD 57108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy interstate access off of I-29 and I-229, our hotel is not only easy to find but is minutes from the Empire Mall for your shopping experience.Corporate guests looking for hotels in Sioux Falls, SD need look no further than this Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel which offers a state of the art business center, free fast high speed Internet, an expanded fitness facility with Precor equipment, and 900 square feet of meeting space. Families can enjoy a stress free trip when they stay with us in Sioux Falls, SD. At our hotel, we pride ourselves in providing you with a great location closest to the most popular attractions, including the Sertoma Butterfly House and Wild Water West Amusement Park. Our hotel has a large pool area including a Children's Splash Pool for our younger guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.