We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3821 West Avera Drive, Sioux Falls, SD 57108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Belvidere, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect for family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

While on our most recent vacation to visit some National Monuments, we stopped here as a nice place to break up a 15 hr trip. The hotel was convenient to the highway, new, clean, and spacious. The hotel staff was friendly. We traveled with our 14 & 16 yo children so the room setup was very nicely laid out too. We booked a double queen with a pullout sofa. The room also had a nice sized frig & microwave with a single-cup coffee maker too. We used the well equiped workout room & ate the free breakfast the next day which included a pancake machine (press the button & a fresh pancake pops out the side within a minute), scrambled eggs, cinnamon rolls, cereal, and many others. There is an indoor pool of nice size with a seperate kids pool that has an "umbrella" with water tumbling over the top of it. While there, we visited Falls Park, where the city gets it's name, which was probably a 12 minute drive. For dinner, we did not take the recommended Bracco's, we went to Nucci's per Tripadvisor & found pretty good Italian. We walked in & my family went "what are we doing here"? I laughed because it did look like a place to go for gelato, not dinner. Mama Rita is indeed in the kitchen cooking. I teased her that she forgot to put the capers in my pasta, and she was so sorry! It was cute! She also makes the gelato. Yummy!! A fun & interesting place to eat & glad we went. Bracco's was crowded, but seemed very "chain-like".

Room Tip: We always ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is wonderful to hear our hotel met your family's needs. Thank you for taking the time to describe some of the features of our hotel that you experienced during your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future if you are in the area or just passing through. I will have to try Nucci's myself as you made the gelato sound like a good treat. I am looking forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    22
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
27
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed here twice. The staff is very nice, no snotty desk clerks like you so often find. Price was reasonable. I have young kids and they LOVE the kiddie pool. Me too - I could sit and relax along the side while they slid and splashed. My only complaint would be the extremely slick floor (which I believe they were planning to fix). Our room was upstairs just from the pool and it was very quiet. Breakfast was also good. We will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our property. It is always exciting to here how much the kids love the splash pool. I know our owners are working with the tile company to find a solution for the tile in the pool area. Thank you for continuing to stay with us. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lubbock, TX
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I liked this hotel because it's close to everything, but it's just on the other side of the expressway so it's quiet. Rooms are clean and the hotel is new, we slept well with hearing very little to no noise. The free breakfast was good too with a decent selection of what has become the norm for hotels in this price range. If I needed t stay in Sioux Falls, I would stay here a again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is wonderful to hear you slept well during your stay with us. We look forward to your future stay with us when you are in Sioux Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego ca
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while visiting family. The place is brand new so everything was great. I loved the bath towels-very soft. Even though there was what appeared to be a young boys baseball team staying on my floor, the room was quiet. The air conditioning worked well. The staff was helpful and friendly. My 15 month old grandson loved the kiddie pool but it was a bit chilly. The location was perfect for me, and there is a drugstore just 2-3 blocks away. Other shopping and places to eat are minutes away by car. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that our location was perfect for you and you go to enjoy and spend time in the pool with your grandson. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed one night. Hotel was nice & clean. Staff was very friendly. Only complaint is the night we were there the chlorine level in the indoor pool was either too strong or not enough ventilation. I could still smell the chlorine on my skin after taking a shower. We were only in the pool for about an hour & had to leave because it was starting to burn our eyes. Very nice pool, hot tub and separate pool play area for kids. Would stay again, but would check the pool out first.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for commenting on our property! I greatly appreciate that you took personal time to review our hotel. I am glad that for the most part, your stay was great. I would like to visit with you about what I can do for you to make it right since you had an issue in our pool area. Sometimes, during the weekends especially, our pool use load can get high and that causes the clorine chemicals to bond. When clorine bonds, that is when people can smell the clorine odor. Hotels typically shock their pools in order to break the bond and get rid of the odor. I am assuming that we needed to shock our pool and we were waiting until the pool closed as to not cause harmful issues to our guests. I feel bad that you were unable to enjoy that area of our hotel for as long as you would have liked to. We strive to make sure that every guest leaves satisfied, please call me the next time you come into town and I will gladly give you a free upgrade into a family stay for your inconvenience. Thank you!

Jessie Bent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Top to bottom, this is a great place. Excellent location for so many things. We're here for soccer and its just a couple exits on 229 and takes about 4 minutes. No hassle of driving through town. Its close to alot of shopping and the hotel itself is brand new. Everything smells new and fresh.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our new hotel during your recent stay. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our convienent location to your event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Warrior
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

There are a lot of nice hotels in the Sioux Falls area but this Holiday Inn Express might be the cream of the crop. No kidding, this hotel is absolutely fantastic, for maybe the first time ever in over 600 hotels stays I can't think of one single area where this hotel could improve.

This is a brand new property, It very obvious to me that the owners put a lot of thought and money into this hotel, they definitely did not go the cheapest route in furnishings and design as most hotel owners tend to do these days, this place is top notch all the way. They have set it up where it's both a great family hotel and a great business traveler hotel.

My room was a HUGE king suite, I was automatically upgraded as a Priority Club Platinum member which was a bonus. Cleanliness was impeccable, the housekeepers clearly take pride in their jobs here. The room had a small kitchentte with microwave/fridge, sink and some cabinets, a large flat screen tv and a comfortable desk and chair to work at. The bed was very comfortable, the mattress was a Serta Diamond Suite, which is a high quality mattress. The Diamond Suite mattress is a bit on the firmer side but still pretty plush, I tend to prefer hotels that have the Serta Presidential Suite mattresses which are a tad softer but I still slept really well here too.

Bathroom was huge, had great lighting and a very classy walk in shower, no disgusting bathtub which was a real plus for me..!!

Everything in the hotel still smells brand new. As another review mentioned as soon as you walk in the door and step on the carpet you sink down into in, very squishy, can feel the carpet padding which is a first for me in a hotel....I doubt most hotels even use padding beneath their carpets, they just put the cheapest stuff in.

There is abundant parking and the location is great, area itself is fantastic, there is nothing really in walking distance of the hotel but on the other side of the Interstate there is all kinds of shopping and restaurants.

Overall this is an awesome hotel, the price is still very good right now, perhaps due to it's newness, so hurry up and book this one because once folks find out about this hotel you can expect that the price will go up big time because it's that good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review of our property. It means a lot that you took time and effort to provide such a detailed review of our hotel. Our staff take pride in keeping our location looking wonderful. Thank you again for review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest

Address: 3821 West Avera Drive, Sioux Falls, SD 57108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy interstate access off of I-29 and I-229, our hotel is not only easy to find but is minutes from the Empire Mall for your shopping experience.Corporate guests looking for hotels in Sioux Falls, SD need look no further than this Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel which offers a state of the art business center, free fast high speed Internet, an expanded fitness facility with Precor equipment, and 900 square feet of meeting space. Families can enjoy a stress free trip when they stay with us in Sioux Falls, SD. At our hotel, we pride ourselves in providing you with a great location closest to the most popular attractions, including the Sertoma Butterfly House and Wild Water West Amusement Park. Our hotel has a large pool area including a Children's Splash Pool for our younger guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.