We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, and prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Buffet - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Buffet
3408 South Western Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD
(605)331-6333
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, and prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I go there often with my family, it is one of our favorite places to eat. You can't beat the prices, selection of food, helpful staff, and a good time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

33% Recommend
    1
    1
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Alot of choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Food is good. Alot of choices. Price is ok. Go in the afternoon. Not so busy. Some people dont speak very good english. All you have to do is point to what u want?. LOL

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“$$ and check out the health reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Definitely check what the health inspection reviews have been recently before eating here. They have a bad history but I believe they have new owners now. They had items like frog legs that you won't find at most Chinese buffets.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stank!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Sorry guys, I love cheap chinese buffets, but this one just plain stinks. Usually the feed at a chinese buffet isn't the best or really traditional, but one expects that and enjoys it for what it is. The food at this place however, is lacking in every way. Also the staff doesn't really speak english, which I understand not everyone at an ethnic restaurant needs to, but there needs to be at least a few people who can communicate to the customers in a friendly fashion.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“At least the dog liked it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The facilities were run down and filthy, the buffet was small, and the food was so cool to the touch that we were concerned about eating it, and especially feeding it to our children. Although my wife wanted to leave as soon as we walked into the dining area, I decided it couldn't be as bad as it looked since there were quite a few people there, although a number of them appeared to be either homeless or quickly headed in that direction. The exception to this, of course, would be the lady with the loudly barking dog in her purse, of which the staff seemed to be fully aware. But, I digress.

After moving from our initial booth due to the large amount of water leaking in through the window onto the windowsill, creating a filthy puddle that looked reminiscent of the General Tso's chicken at this particular buffet, we got our plates, and before actually getting into our meal (it only took one bite.. see above... cold food... filthy facilities), we decided to leave and request a refund. Although I explained the situation and was very polite, I had to argue with the lady at the front counter in front of my wife and children for about 5 minutes to get a refund. Even then she would only agree to a roughly 50% refund. She was quite rude and argumentative, and felt that I needed it explained to me that if I got food from the buffet and left it on the table for several minutes that it would get cold, which was not the case, but thanks for insulting my intelligence. Again, I can't stress how filthy this place was. I think I may have even detected a bit of hesitation on the part the dog in the lady's purse.

How fortunate for them that you have to pay by the front door before you get a glimpse of the buffet or the rest of the facility. I don't doubt that this is by design.

I just hope the dog made it out OK.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Buffet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;