We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Joseph Cathedral

St. Joseph Cathedral
521 North Duluth Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57104-2714
(605) 336-7390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Attractions in Sioux Falls
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We usually don't visit churches but we read about this and had some spare time. We are so glad that we visited this attraction. I say attraction because it is a site to see. Beautiful church which you can see in the cityscape of this town. Great sculptures and stained glass. It is huge. Take time to see this as you will remember forever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    8
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgerton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a beautiful old church and parsonage that shows the amazing talent of our forefathers in design and architectural feats of greatness. They truly put forth their best efforts when designing this cathedral and the grounds that surround it deserve a stroll to enjoy the beauty of the floral elements incorporated in the nearby gardens.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It was an impressive building but then again, aren't most such buildings?
We've seen more impressive structures & less impressive structures thus rating this an average site.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Indeed, a beautiful cathedral!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Recently updated and very beautiful interior in French Romanesque style, which is especially attractive.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An impressive sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The steeples of this catherdral stand out on the horizon as you approach Sioux Falls. This is an impressive, massive limestone structure on a hill overlooking the business district. We only drove by. Can't imagine how beautiful it must be on the inside. The adjoining neigborhood is the historical district that has several huge, beautiful historic homes that are well kept and worth the drive by.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Joseph Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Joseph Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Joseph Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.