We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed, a beautiful cathedral!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Joseph Cathedral

St. Joseph Cathedral
521 North Duluth Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57104-2714
(605) 336-7390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Attractions in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Churches & cathedrals, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Indeed, a beautiful cathedral!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Recently updated and very beautiful interior in French Romanesque style, which is especially attractive.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    8
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinckney, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An impressive sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The steeples of this catherdral stand out on the horizon as you approach Sioux Falls. This is an impressive, massive limestone structure on a hill overlooking the business district. We only drove by. Can't imagine how beautiful it must be on the inside. The adjoining neigborhood is the historical district that has several huge, beautiful historic homes that are well kept and worth the drive by.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

After reading TripAdvisor reviews on Sioux Falls, I decided to stop at this lovely cathedral. It is a awesome lovely church. The stained glass windows are all very unique and interesting to stop and look at each one. This a a great place to visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to connect with christ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This cathedral is beautiful inside the renovation really made it look nice yet preserved the original parts. I love how in this cathedral its so big but it still has a warmth to it that makes you feel almost at home. The couple times I have gone to mass here the congregation seems welcoming and friendly I'm sure they are used to visitors all the time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This cathedral is so beautiful that I wasn't able to pay attention during mass! I live on the west side and try to come here often.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Joseph Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Joseph Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Joseph Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.