We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An impressive sight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Joseph Cathedral

St. Joseph Cathedral
521 North Duluth Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57104-2714
(605) 336-7390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 41 things to do in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pinckney, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An impressive sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The steeples of this catherdral stand out on the horizon as you approach Sioux Falls. This is an impressive, massive limestone structure on a hill overlooking the business district. We only drove by. Can't imagine how beautiful it must be on the inside. The adjoining neigborhood is the historical district that has several huge, beautiful historic homes that are well kept and worth the drive by.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    14
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

After reading TripAdvisor reviews on Sioux Falls, I decided to stop at this lovely cathedral. It is a awesome lovely church. The stained glass windows are all very unique and interesting to stop and look at each one. This a a great place to visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to connect with christ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This cathedral is beautiful inside the renovation really made it look nice yet preserved the original parts. I love how in this cathedral its so big but it still has a warmth to it that makes you feel almost at home. The couple times I have gone to mass here the congregation seems welcoming and friendly I'm sure they are used to visitors all the time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
“Beautiful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This cathedral is so beautiful that I wasn't able to pay attention during mass! I live on the west side and try to come here often.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“St. Joseph Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Absolutely stunning. Reminds me of the many European Cathedrals I have seen but with better lighting. We also went to the small chapel at the back (walk around the outside of the Cathedral) which was also beautiful. There is also a little park with a grotto to the left (when you are looking at the front of the Cathedral) which is nice. For a distant view of the Cathedral, go to the observation tower at Falls Park where you can see St. Joseph's rising over the city.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Joseph Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Joseph Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Joseph Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.