We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visible from all over the city for a reason.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Joseph Cathedral

St. Joseph Cathedral
521 North Duluth Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57104-2714
(605) 336-7390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 60 things to do in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
North Branch, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Visible from all over the city for a reason.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It seemed that wherever I was in the city the spires of the church were high on the horizon. It was like a homing beacon calling the traveler. I'm so glad I answered the call. We hiked up from downtown. Thanks to the recommendation from the volunteer at the old courthouse we strolled up and down Duluth Street from the church south to tenth and back. Ignore the homes that somehow slipped into the setting in the past generation. The many great homes set up the beauty of the church. Inside it is simply breathtaking. All the restoration work makes this a real gem.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    9
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
118 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place for reflection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a gorgeous cathedral! If you have just a few minutes, I would highly recommend going inside to look around. Pictures may not be appropriate depending on what is going on inside when you arrive. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, this is a beautiful place to give a word of thanks.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A beautifully restored Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This Cathedral has undergone a very extensive restoration. It looks brand new! The stained glass windows are particularly impressive, and they're not all religious themes! The largest one depicts the history of industry in Sioux Falls. See if you can spot the train!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A bit of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Beautiful old church as been renovated since we last visited. A great historic building, a must see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Historical Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I am a sort of a history buff and the Cathedral is one of Sioux Falls most beautiful historic buildings. You don't have to be a Catholic to appreciate the craftsmanship and attention to detail that went into this building. They also have a beautiful garden to walk through.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Joseph Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Joseph Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Joseph Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.