We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT BAD” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Dragon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Dragon
121 North Indiana Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57103
(605) 988-0888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #218 of 325 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Sioux Falls
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“NOT BAD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The food was good and the selection was good, just nothing that stood out to make it EXCELLENT. The price was fair and we have certainly eaten there more than once so it's not bad just not our favorite!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

40% Recommend
    3
    3
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rural Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not so good; disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had searched for a Chinese restaurant with good reviews and Golden Dragon came up with pretty good reviews. I'm not sure if I hit an off day but it was not so good.
Pros: Restaurant looked clean, friendly staff; Egg Rolls were OK.
Cons: The food had a "smoky" taste (almost like liquid smoke) not to
mention just not very tasty. Edible but not exceptional. I had almond
chicken and the meat was lightly battered/fried; very few almonds and
didn't taste like any other almond chicken I've ever had.
When I place my order, I also ordered a couple entrees to go for my family
and those too were disappointing. My husband's comment, "Definitely have
had better Chinese food; this was nothing to write home about."
(Had ordered Sweet and Sour and Beef and Pea Pods (had a total of 7
pea pods). Another thing I noticed and didn't like was the addition of
PEAS, not pea pods but peas, and lots of them in my Almond Chicken.
Maybe cheap filler but not what I expect in Almond Chicken.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Food was Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had the food delivered to my hotel room and it was just okay. There was nothing special about it and the price was the normal price range you would expect. The delivery was quick and the food was hot. They did provide utensils and a plate since they were delivering to a hotel. The crab rangoon was nothing to special nor was the General's Chicken. The fried rice was a little bland and nothing to write home about. Overall it was average and nothing spectacular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hot spicy soup...best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I always enjoy lunch at the Golden Dragon. When they say spicy...it is spicy which I appreciate. I also appreciate their willingness to serve sauces on the side... diet-friendly. Usually has tables available which is another plus.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This might be the best Chinese restaurant in a city that's loaded with Chinese restaurants. Food is very tasty and fresh. Prices were bumped up a little in the past year.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Dragon also viewed

 

Been to Golden Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;