We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteless service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Garden

Imperial Garden
5318 E Arrowhead Pkwy, Sioux Falls, SD 57110-2750
605-339-8582
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #184 of 303 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasteless service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have found difficulty in my search for good quality Chinese food in Sioux Falls and tried this place not once but twice. My first impression of the food and service was poor so I gave them a second chance a few months later. The waitress/greeter asked our group of five..."so eat in our take out?" in a cold, rude tone. As soon as we were taken to our table she showed up with 5 glasses of water and says, "Water is ok for everybody, right?" Then with our orders she was just as curt, rude, and unfriendly. The food came out quickly and the flavor was "ok" albeit more bland than most Chinese food I have had. The portions(albeit over lunch) were somewhat stingy too. Negatives: Mediocre food, poor customer service. Positives: fast service. Verdict: I will not give them a third chance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
S. Central South Dakota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't drive by, you NEED to eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely delicious Chinese food, NOT heated up boxed food. This is the real deal, hot & fresh!

The staff is extremely attentive & professional.

*Bonus-The price point is lower than many Chinese restaurants, however the quality of the food is great. A++

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefield, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eat here only if you want salty, salty, salty food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stopped here based upon the highly complementary previous review. We were the only customers at 3:30 on a Sunday afternoon. The service was very friendly, a nice dining room.

Three of us tried to eat, none of us could finish. Everything super salty, very little other flavor. If they make their own egg rolls the chef should quit - tough & overcooked, no flavor but salt & pepper. The "fried rice" was not, also undercooked. Wonton soup = marginal at best. Moo shu beef = swimming/drowned in soy sauce (did I mention salty?) Chicken lo mein = undercooked noodles but what chicken was there was good (and salty!) Huge disappointment, will not go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NV
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best Chinese food in town! -Don't miss the drive way, It by the Splash sign.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

E-Ping (the Owner/Chef) does the best Shrimp dishes! The Garlic Brown sauce is the bomb! The Hula beef is great starter. Ask for Jasmine Tea for a special treat. The service is super, very friendly. A Great place to take a date. We love eating at the Imperial Garden!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial Garden also viewed

 

Been to Imperial Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.