We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice budget chain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls

Save Saved
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 South Carolyn Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 Nights; Save 20%
Ranked #34 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
Camano Island, Wa.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A very nice budget chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I have been hesitant about staying at a Microtel. It's not the most flattering name for a motel. Makes it sound like it has real tiny rooms, like a cruise ship cabin. But the chain is always ranked at the top in Consumer Reports ratings of budget motels. And we were taking a month long cross country road trip, so we gave it a try.

My first impression wasn't the best. There was no one at the front desk, just a sign saying to Dial 0 from the phone next to the desk. I did, and the phone alongside me behind the desk rang! It must have rang 30 times before someone came running from the back and answered the phone. Seeing me standing right there he said "Oh, it's you on the phone." After that bizarre start, things improved dramatically. The desk clerk was very friendly and checked me in quickly. We took the elevator up to our room, which turned out to be rather nice. It is fairly small, but didn't feel cramped at all. It reminded me of the Ibis chain we have stayed in while traveling in France. There isn't a lot of furnituure, but it's well designed. An interesting feature is the bay window with a cushion in it. It takes the place of a chair, and didn't take up any floor space. A large mirror behind the bed makes the room seem larger. Everything was very clean, and the bathroom is a good size. The free internet worked fine too.

The small breakfast room is right off the front desk. It had a decent selection: 3 cereals, oatmeal, toast, bagels, mini muffins. All in all, this turned out to be a nice stay. We wound up staying at 2 more Microtel's on this trip. For not much more than a Motel 6, you get a nicer room, with free internet and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    45
    17
    12
See reviews for
56
30
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Great value hotel. The rooms are nothing luxurious but have nice little window seats. This is the perfect stopover hotel. The location near the Empire Mall is for my money the best area to stay at while visiting Sioux Falls. The breakfast was also the best among the chain hotels during our trip across South Dakota.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

After staying here, my wife and I are puzzled at the previous good reviews. In our first room, the air conditioner did not work, so we changed rooms. In the second room, the air conditioner worked, but clanked like an auto mechanic on speed. Finally we settled for ear plugs.

The motel isn't bad for the price, but is run-down and not clean. The breakfast is minimal at best. If you can afford $10-20 more, use the money to stay at a better place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Ne.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

We just stayed at this Microtel not once but twice in one week. We were on a 14 hour drive from Lincoln NE to Ely MN. We booked it for the front end of our vacation and it was perfect. Its clean, affordable, good breakfast and just off I-29. So there's no "searching" for it when you are tired. We had told the kids we "weren't sure where we were going to stay on the way back" but we had it booked already. We would've cancelled if the place was shabby, but all of us were very surprised at the amenities, the good nights rest and the proximity to the interstate all for just $60. All we had was one overnight bag for the 4 of us and so we didn't even unload the car. We were there to eat (breakfast) and sleep and it was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk Rapids, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

This hotel was a good place to stay. Your basic room, clean and quiet. Just stayed here overnight, great price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

Heading westward, we stopped here for the night. The price was excellent and the room very clean and comfortable (my wife loved the window seat). The continental breakfast was exceptional. My only complaint is that it is a little awkward to get to - but this may be more due to how tired I was at the time I checked in.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Read the reviews on tripadvisor and was happy a hotel in this price range had actually good reviews. The last lady put pictures of the rooms which was nice since the ones on orbitz and other sites had a giant x and would not load. This can be scary but once we drove in I was very surprised it looked newly built or newly remodeled. We booked a sunday-monday stay from skiing at Great Bear and we were beat. Lady at the front desk was nice and we were put on the 3rd floor at the very end I again was surprised! Room was small though we got a room with a micro/fridge which wasn't stated on the room amenities plus bathroom was clean and huge. beds were very comfy and from what I could tell it was very clean. Breakfast was good wish they had a self making waffle machine but what can I say it was worth it. Don't forget to look for codes for orbitz bookings I had a 15% off code and it took of $9 which paid nearly all the tax and fees.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls

Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Sioux Falls Hotel
Microtel Inn And Suites Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Microtel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Microtel
Address: 2901 South Carolyn Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.