We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's there if you can find it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 South Carolyn Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It's there if you can find it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is an average hotel in the Microtel chain nothing too special. Getting to the hotel itself was an adventure. You can see it as you approach from the interstate so you know it is there, but with all the construction and congestion in the area finding it was a chore. It is the first right as you come off the interstate bridge, but because of the construction I had to go on down to the next street. The area mall in on the right side of the street coming in so if you arrive at the wrong time of day you then have to wait for the traffic congestion to get to that next street (which I did). I then had to drive down that second street until I seen a connecting road that led down to the other street the hotel was on (there was one by a large hardware store) and backtrack back to the motel.

Check in went fine. When I first entered the room there was a bad smell. Not sure if it was musty or exactly what. I guess I kind of got used to it or the climate control unit alleviated it somewhat, but it did become a little less noticeable after a time. The room appeared clean though and the linens were clean. The rooms can be a bit small for families, but good for business, solo and couple travelers. The beds were comfortable and they give you several pillows to use. The work area wasn't overly large, but useable. Not that many plugins to use though. I had to go under the desk to plug my laptop in. My cell phone and camera I had to plug in and set on the floor by the bed so if you are one who likes all your stuff in the same place this may distract you a bit.

About 15 minutes into the room the front desk called and asked if everything was ok with the room and if there was any luggage that was not mine in the room. Ended up a guest checked out that morning, but they didn't pull the person's room ticket from their housekeeping records and she had to call to make sure that the room was not double booked. She was very apologetic about it and was very nice throughout the whole matter, but a bit scary the logistics system isn't a bit stronger and allowed this to happen in the first place.

Only real gripe I had was the odor in the room. Not sure if all the rooms had this smell, but the room I stayed in at least needed a good ionization treatment and a stick up. The breakfast was average and the employees were friendly so overall I'll call it a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    62
    63
    26
    17
See reviews for
82
48
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spring Valley, MN
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We checked in and everything was okay, slow, but we got our room. The rooms are a bit small. The beds were comfortable, but the bedding is worn and in need of replacement. The carpet is worn out, has some stains and needs to be replaced (at least in our room). I'll be honest, my kids were very loud that night and we had a hard time settling them down. The bikers on their way to Sturgis were much quieter than we were. One good thing is that the guest laundry/washing machine is free. The drier is not, but it was only 75 cents to operate. Breakfast is cereal, toast, pastries, juices and coffee, but the breakfast is free which is good for families. This hotel is very close to I29 so very convenient and is also right across the street from the Empire Mall. We'd stay there again since we only needed a roof over our heads that night, but it's nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camden, maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We had been driving 700 miles a day with no time to shop motels when we arrived late at night. Mobile Internet gave my companion the ability to search hotels by reviews and amenities offered. Having never been at a Microtel before I was hesistant. The room was spotless, the a/c was excellent though a little noisy, and the beds were top quality with fitted bottom sheets ( a welcome surprise after fighting with top sheets used as bottom sheets in other hotels. . e.g.They end up in a bunch and youre sleeping on a raw mattress instead!) The ammenities to value ratio was indicitive of a 4 star hotel yet the price was reasonable...especially with a AAA club card. Breakfast was spartan but adequate continental style. Check in was a breeze, service friendly and sleep easily attained. We will stay again....which we did the next night in Indiana with similar results. Can't ask for better for the price! Oh and floor level washer dryer was a bonus as well.

Room Tip: If you are getting in late always ask for ground floor room and don't forget to ask for non-smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights and were very pleased with the cleanliness, comfort, and price of the rooms. It was also located near alot of resturants, and shopping. Very easy to find. Will definetly stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed here for a quick overnight and got great value for what we paid. The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel itself was pleasant enough.

Our luggage was delayed and the hotel provided us with some basic amenities at no charge.

The breakfast room was small, but for a budget motel, the food was more than adequate.

The walls are somewhat thin, so bring ear plugs.

Although I was not with my family, I do not think they would have liked this place too much, as their was not too many kid friendly things for them to do, but for a late overnight, it would be fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I had booked a reservation for our family to stay here for one night. I walked in and the place did not smell right. I asked to see the room & as the manager & I rode the elevator another guest was complaining about the smell. She said it was pot & that the whole place smelled like it since she checked in the night before. The room was dated, smelled musty & there were stains on the couch. We chose to stay elsewhere that night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

This place was clean, comfortable, and well furnished. I tend to prefer Microtels when available because they seem very consistent. Nothing spectacular, just a comfortable and reliable place to spend a night,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls

Address: 2901 South Carolyn Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Microtel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.