We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I was afraid it was going to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 West Russell Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Sedalia, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Better than I was afraid it was going to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Due to a detour, we came from behind the building. Our GPS said to turn right and our destination was on the right. It was raining outside, and we'd been in the car all day. When we looked at the outside, I was worried. It looks run down and the neighborhood is less than spectacular. Upon entering to register, my worries were not eased. It seemed like a very old hotel that wasn't in very good repair. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Much to our happy surprise, we opened the door to our room and it was very clean, had nice bedding, comfortable beds. Our stay was uneventful. There was some water damaged areas in the bathroom but nothing major. The next morning, we woke early and headed down for breakfast. There were several soccer team staying at the hotel so it was busy. The breakfast area was not laid out well at all. There was no flow of movement. While the hotel room was clean and nice and the staff was nice, it's not enough for me to recommend as a place to stay. I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, General Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for staying at the GuestHouse Inn & Suites for your stay in Sioux Falls, we surely appreciate it. We appreciate hearing that the staff was friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the rooms. We are doing some remodeling on the exterior of the building this fall and are excited for our new look. Thank you once again for taking the time to review us online.

Christina Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Outside appearance is a bit seedy with the peeling paint but the bed was very comfortable. Sort of felt uncomfortable with doors going both ways, outside and inside. We were on our way home from the Black Hills and needed to sleep for a night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, General Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We appreciate your stay and your comments regarding the GuestHouse Inn & Suites and take them very seriously. We are excited that we are removing the outside entrances to the property as well as remodeling the exterior of the building. We look forward to hearing from you again next time you are in Sioux Falls.

Christina Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVERLAND PARK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The reviews we read prior to staying here were pretty much on target. Surrounding area is industrial. Outside appearance was not impressive, but they have done a good job of updating the interior. Room had a new TV, beds were very comfortable and everything was clean. Staff were most helpful and friendly. Breakfast was above normal for motels and the eating areas (2) were clean and plenty of tables. Exercise room has two treadmills and an exercise bike with a TV. Did not get to use the pool, but it looked clean and towels were available. Price was great for the value. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, General Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the GuestHouse Inn & Suites for your stay in Sioux Falls and for taking the time to give us such a nice review. We are excited that we are updating our exterior so we can match the interior during the next month and a half. Thank you once again.

Christina Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed there for 4 days July 22 and was amazed at how clean everything was. The maids were so nice. The breakfast was so so but good just the same. But if you book a room there and have lots of luggage, get a room on the first floor. No elevators. Big plus was that it was pet friendly. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, General Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the GuestHouse Inn & Suites for your stay in Sioux Falls and for giving us such a wonderful review online. Being a pet friendly Hotel is important for us because not all places will accept pets and we want our guests to be as comfortable as possible. Once again thank you.

Christina Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at the Guesthouse Inn & Suites for one night on our way to Mt. Rushmore from Chicago. We were blown away by the quality of stay that we received for the price we paid. We booked online for just under $60/night. As a somewhat luxury traveler, I was hesitant to pay so little for a room but I was beyond impressed! The room was spacious and clean. Our king-size bed was fantastic and we were very well rested the next morning. The bathroom was large and comfortable. The room also included a TV, fridge, and microwave. All employees were pleasant and helpful. The continental breakfast had the usual pastry and cereal options, but was perfect for an early start. Thanks for providing a great place to stop on our drive!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor if you are a light sleeper - first floor rooms have both inside a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, General Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for staying at the GuestHouse Inn & Suites and for giving us such a wonderful review, we certainly appreciate it! Our staff will be thrilled to see this review as they work very hard to make every guest stay a positive one. Thank you once again for taking the time to review us online.

Christina Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

When we came down off the interstate, we saw a rundown hotel from afar with a tarp on the roof. I said, "eww look at that dump," and then we pulled up to it. It was our Guesthouse Inn.

We had a room on the bottom floor. It is the same one a previous review said had been "refreshed." I think that reviewer is blind. The toilet and fixtures in the bathroom were OLD except for the shower head. The wallpaper was peeling and had some mold stains on it, and there was hair in the shower...that wasn't ours.

We completely peeled the blanket off the bed when we found numerous long hairs in the weave and all over the bed.

Pro: We paid around $70 for the room, tax included. The breakfast was your standard "expanded" continental breakfast (aka...it had a waffle maker.)

After driving 16 hours, it was fine, but I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, General Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us at the GuestHouse Inn & Suites. During the big storms that went through the Midwest we lost a couple shingles off the roof and put a tarp over those spots while we wait for our new roof. A lot of businesses in the area were affected by the storms, and we are thankful more damage wasn’t done. With an older building we are always working on small repairs and work hard to make sure our guests stays are positive so we do appreciate being alerted in an area that needed work on.

Christina Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The room was big, well appointed, clean and quiet. This hotel isn't fancy, but it is very nice. Breakfast was good, but there was no yogurt or fruit. The price was excellent.If you are looking for a decent hotel on a budget, then this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, General Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review the GuestHouse Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls and thank you for choosing us for your stay. Our staff will be happy to see such a nice review, once again thank you.

Christina Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls

Address: 3101 West Russell Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls is an attractive two story hotel with 43 well appointed guest rooms which all include in room refrigerators and microwaves. The property is located just off I-29 at exit 81 and features easy off and on access. The GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls offers a deluxe continental breakfast with make your own malted waffles served from 6am to 9am Monday thru Friday and 6am to 10am on Saturday and Sunday. We also have the Roll N Pin restaurant located next door to the GuestHouse Inn & Suites. The GuestHouse Inn & Suites is a pet friendly hotel and children 18 years of age and younger stay free. The GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls has a beautiful two room suite with wet bar microwave refrigerator dining area and gas fireplace. The suite has a whirlpool tub in the bathroom and a separate bedroom with a pillow-top king size bed. The property also has some rooms with at the door parking with interior corridors. The property has expanded basic cable with HBO. We also have Free Wireless High Speed Internet access throughout the property. The GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls has a small meeting room for up to 23 people for rent at a nominal charge. We also feature an indoor pool and exercise room for guest use. The GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls is located 1/2 mile from the Sioux Falls Arena and Convention Center, and 1.5 miles from the South Dakota Air National Guard and the Sioux Falls Airport Joe Foss Field. FSD-Sioux Falls 5 miles Northwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn Sioux Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;