We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Be Fooled” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls

Save Saved
You added Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 West Russell Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't Be Fooled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Do not let the outward appearance or the location of this property scare you off. We found this hotel very easy to get to and it was easy to get to the Zoo, Falls Park and the Empire Mall from the hotel. Unfortunately, the hotel is right off the interstate and some may discount it as a good place to stay but our room was along the back of the hotel and was very quiet. The room was large, clean and the bed was comfortable. I believe the continental breakfast is advertised as "deluxe" and while it is not exactly deluxe it is adequate and one always has the option of eating elsewhere if they don't like the choices they are give. There is a pool but no hot tub.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may have less noise from the nearby freeway but not having stayed in the front roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, General Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for staying at the GuestHouse Inn & Suites; we appreciate your business and taking the time to give us a review. We surely appreciate that you enjoyed your stay and that it was quiet and comfortable. We are always working on our breakfast and are always looking at new options, what are some of the options you would like to see added to a breakfast such as ours? Once again thank you so much for choosing the GuestHouse Inn & Suites.

Christina Herman GM
GuestHouse Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 on route to Chicago, so it was literally just a stop over. Got there late and left again really early. I know this is not meant to be a five star hotel, so I don't think it is fair to criticize the hotel's appearance etc. It was all we needed and was clean, comfortable and we had a good sleep. It also had good sized rooms. The continental breakfast was not good at all and we weren't very impressed with the reception staff who checked us in. It seemed like he was doing us a huge favour.

I would however still recommend staying here for a stopover, as the hotel offers affordable rates and easy access to the interstate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, General Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing the GuestHouse Inn & Suites for your stay in Sioux Falls, SD. We appreciate hearing area’s we are doing well in and areas that need attention. I will work with our team on customer service coaching and am terribly sorry you felt that way. We are always working with our food vendor on new and exciting options on the Continental Breakfast; we would love to hear what options you would want included. We do appreciate the recommendation, thank you very much for taking the time out to give us a review.

Christina Herman GM
GuestHouse Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Got lost (my fault). Called the Inn and got perfect directions. Staff was nice, room and price were good. The location was good and the stay was enjoyable (one night). Although there were a few mechanical problems with the doors, it was obvious that repairs were being done and when I reported the problems to the front desk on checkout, they were noted and, my guess, repairs have been made. Breakfast was typical and no complaints here. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, General Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We appreciate you staying at the GuestHouse Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls for your stay. We also appreciate you taking the time to rate and review us online. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the GuestHouse Inn & Suites, and are doing everything we can to continue this. We had some programming issues with a couple of the door locks and ordered brand new ones that have been installed, we thank you for letting us know. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Christina Herman GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wasn't too sure based on other reviews, but we were very happy with our stay here. The room was nice and clean and the bed and pillows were super comfortable. We stayed in a king size room right by the lobby and it was very quiet. My daughters and their husbands had a room on the second floor with two queen sized beds and their air conditioner was not working very well - otherwise, I would have probably given it 5 stars because I felt it was a good place to stay especially considering the low price we booked. We will definitely be staying here again on our way through. We were on the lower level with a door to the outside of the building which was great considering we had a lot of things to unload.

Room Tip: King sized bed was SUPER comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, General Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying at the GuestHouse Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls and for taking the time to review us online, we appreciate it. We have been doing a lot of upgrades to the property and are very thrilled that they are pleasing our guests and that you enjoyed your stay. Next time you come through there will be more upgrades and improvements in the rooms, we look forward to your next visit!

Christina Herman GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My party of 4 stayed the one night at this hotel on our way to Rapid City, SD. It is conveniently located close to I-90. The hotel lady at the lobby was very helpful, taking the time to point us in the directions to Falls Park. I did not use Wi-Fi so cannot rate speed of connection. Continental breakfast (included) consisted of the following selections: cereals, coffee, fruit juice, bread (regular & multi grain), hard boiled eggs, yogurt, butter & jelly. The non-smoking room we selected was clean and located on the ground floor. We were lucky to have a "back door" access right in front of where we parked our vehicle for easy loading/unloading of our luggage. The price is extremely attractive for another stay in the future, local area hotels cost significantly more. We were pleased with our stay here.

Room Tip: Book in advance to get a greater chance at a good room. Avoid visiting Falls Park from this hotel on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, General Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the GuestHouse Inn & Suites for your stay in Sioux Falls, we appreciate the business and appreciate you taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. Thank you once again from the GuestHouse Inn & Suites Staff and myself.

Christina Herman GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The words 'budget friendly' are accurate because the rate is quite low, but as the old adage goes 'you get what you pay for'. I liked the price - who doesn't like cheap, but it was not worth it.
The outdoor of the building was in horrible disrepair. The inside lobby/hallways could use some cleaning and dusting. The hotel itself was a bit on the grunge side and I don't say that lightly because we are a family that gives everyplace the benefit of the doubt. But this place needs work. There was a not so nice musty smell in the hallways, the carpet was dingy,& the furnishings, paint, & decor could use some sprucing up. The room itself wasn't so bad, it was clean and the bedding and bathroom was fair, which is fine if you plan to just stay in the room the whole time & never leave, but once you left your room - good luck because everything else was not good. Another positive was the staff who were cordial.

One thing that deserves comment is the environment - the occupants we saw lingering outside the hotel on their vehicles and on lawn chairs and some of the individuals walking around in the halls made me feel very uneasy, especially having my kids. I definitely worried about safety. In fact, we ultimately left and found a new hotel. So, if cheap is what you want you can get it here, but be wary 'You get what you pay for in life' and as we found out there are lots of other options in the Sioux Falls area that are a few bucks more and are way way better. For an extra $20-30 a night you will definitely be more comfortable elsewhere.
Note: the night we left we bumped into another family with kids out in the parking lot who had also decided they were leaving because it was so bad. So what does that tell you. How terribly coincidental is that. 2 families who never met before, who visited this property for the first time, and who made the same decision. Yikes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, General Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us an online review and feedback. We are excited and looking forward to painting the exterior of our property in the near future. We have done a lot of renovations and repairs starting with the inside of the rooms giving them a new fresh look and now we are working on the exterior to do the same.

Christina Herman GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Drove up to the hotel and thought oh this is the place we are staying?? The outside needs some tlc. The inside on the other hand looks very updated. I ended up with a king sized suite very nice and spacious. The shower could have used a little extra cleaning and it would have been nice if the spa woupd have worked, but other than that I enjoyed staying here. Continental breakfast is like everyone else's, waffle maker, juice, cereal, milk, muffins, toast, bagels, oatmeal. Staff was very friendly from the front desk to the maids.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, General Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for staying at the GuestHouse Inn & Suites for your stay in Sioux Falls; we appreciate you taking the time to give us an online review. We are excited and pleased that we will be updating the exterior as we have updated the inside of the hotel in the near future. I have purchased some new cleaning supplies that might help with stubborn spots, so hopefully you will come back to stay at the GuestHouse Inn & Suites and notice the changes made. Thank you once again.

Christina Herman GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls

Also Known As:
Kelly Inn Sioux Falls
Address: 3101 West Russell Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls is an attractive two story hotel with 43 well appointed guest rooms which all include in room refrigerators and microwaves. The property is located just off I-29 at exit 81 and features easy off and on access. The GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls offers a deluxe continental breakfast with make your own malted waffles served from 6am to 9am Monday thru Friday and 6am to 10am on Saturday and Sunday. We also have the Roll N Pin restaurant located next door to the GuestHouse Inn & Suites. The GuestHouse Inn & Suites is a pet friendly hotel and children 18 years of age and younger stay free. The GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls has a beautiful two room suite with wet bar microwave refrigerator dining area and gas fireplace. The suite has a whirlpool tub in the bathroom and a separate bedroom with a pillow-top king size bed. The property also has some rooms with at the door parking with interior corridors. The property has expanded basic cable with HBO. We also have Free Wireless High Speed Internet access throughout the property. The GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls has a small meeting room for up to 23 people for rent at a nominal charge. We also feature an indoor pool and exercise room for guest use. The GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls is located 1/2 mile from the Sioux Falls Arena and Convention Center, and 1.5 miles from the South Dakota Air National Guard and the Sioux Falls Airport Joe Foss Field. FSD-Sioux Falls 5 miles Northwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.