We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic bargin.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 West Russell Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Marlton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Basic bargin.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Not from around here and was having major issues finding a place to stay one night. The hotels where either super fancy $100+ hotels, or alot of them where super seedy/filthy bug spots! This place is a medium price, not cheap but not super high. My biggest compliant was the outside, looked run down. Inside front lobby was nice and new. The woman at the counter was soooo nice! Instead of the typical "what ya want?" hotel cleark, she had nice small talk and offered us AAA discount. As soon as we got in our room, she gave us a personal ring asking if we where ok with the room-super nice! The rooms basic. But has nice comfortable beds! A plus! Room is clean, the bathroom is a bit on the older side you can tell, but its clean. Its a basic and nice hotel for the basic needs traveler!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, General Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We appreciate your stay at the GuestHouse Inn & Suites and thank you for taking the time to give us comments and rank us online. We have continued to improve the inside of the hotel and are excited to be upgrading our exterior later this year as well. Customer service is our focus with guests; I am very pleased you had a great stay. Thank you once again.

Christina Herman
GuestHouse Inn & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late at night only needing a place to sleep. Despite the odor in the common areas, the room was large and clean. There was a microwave, mini fridge, coffee (which wasn't bad) and free wifi. I don't typically comment on the toiletries, but they were surprisingly better than average, given the hotel rating. They had orange extract in them and smell delicious. The continental breakfast was very nice, simple but good selection. The make your own waffle station was a hit and they were delicious. There were a few cereals to choose from, toast, bagels, English muffins, hard boiled eggs, coffee and apple and orange juices. Not bad for the price, which was a Priceline Express Deal:$53 including tax. The one complaint aside from the odor in the hallways was that they ran out of coffee in the breakfast rom and it took awhile to replenish.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Herman_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for staying at the GuestHouse Inn & Suites as well as taking the time to rate us online and give us comments. We have done quite a few upgrades in the rooms since your stay and have a breakfast attendant on every day and more hours so we can keep the coffee full. We appreciate hearing about our toiletries, it is nice to know what our guests like and dislike regarding them so when we decide on new ones we can use comments like this one regarding the citrus scent. Once again we do appreciate your business and hope to see you the next time you are in Sioux Falls.

Christina Herman
GuestHouse Inn & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My parents, husband and I stayed at the GH both on the first night of the drive to Mt Rushmore and on our drive home. So my thoughts are for two rooms during two different stays.

Pros:
Clean
Easy pull-up-to-the-door parking for first floor
Polite, helpful front desk staff
Convenient access to I-29
Breakfast is provided: waffles, mini-muffins, donuts, cereal

Cons:
No elevator for the second floor (hassle for lugging heavy suitcases)
Parents' room had a stale odor first night, ours was ok
Internet was pretty sad, too slow for photo upload
Rooms most definitely had outdated look


Overall, to a point, you get what you pay for. It's not fair to expect something we know costs twice as much. Even so, we were quite pleased with our stay knowing what we found was quite nice for what we were willing to pay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Okay for one night.....staff very helpful but the hotel was quite noisy both from outside traffic and from some of the more 'boisterous' guests...it was clean enough but another of those easily forgetable places you've stayed in....breakfast was fine.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I reserved a couple rooms here through Priceline's Name your Price deal for my bachlorette party. I had planned a pool party outside during the day at my house for us to hang out at. Unfortunetly, the day called for rain so I ended up calling the hotel and they were more than happy to allow me to bring my friends to the indoor hotel pool. I also got to bring my snacks and punch and set up in the breakfast room. The 2 girls at the front desk were very accomodating and helped me with whatever I needed! When we did finally check in, they gave us 2 adjoining rooms so we all could be together! I was very impressed with the customer service here and would totally stay here again! Thank you Guesthouse Inn and Suites!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ida Grove, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

It may not be a good view from the outside. When you walk inside and it SMELL CLEAN from the GET GO that is a PLUS!!!! The ROOM are BIG and CLEAN and the AC was FANTASIC! With 100 plus weather we were cool or even cold at times . Super stay and WILL HANDS DOWN STAY AGAIN!!!! Only one suggestion is to add fresh fruit to the breakfast oranges and bananas and pre- package cut apples like MacD's would work. Otherwise I couldn't be happier,

Room Tip: We were on the upper floor the restaurant , or other hotel wasn't next to the GH we couldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

The lobby was dirty and smelled terrible. I was so disgusted, pool was maybe 10x10. The stinch was unbelievable. Internet pix not what it is in person.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls

Address: 3101 West Russell Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls is an attractive two story hotel with 43 well appointed guest rooms which all include in room refrigerators and microwaves. The property is located just off I-29 at exit 81 and features easy off and on access. The GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls offers a deluxe continental breakfast with make your own malted waffles served from 6am to 9am Monday thru Friday and 6am to 10am on Saturday and Sunday. We also have the Roll N Pin restaurant located next door to the GuestHouse Inn & Suites. The GuestHouse Inn & Suites is a pet friendly hotel and children 18 years of age and younger stay free. The GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls has a beautiful two room suite with wet bar microwave refrigerator dining area and gas fireplace. The suite has a whirlpool tub in the bathroom and a separate bedroom with a pillow-top king size bed. The property also has some rooms with at the door parking with interior corridors. The property has expanded basic cable with HBO. We also have Free Wireless High Speed Internet access throughout the property. The GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls has a small meeting room for up to 23 people for rent at a nominal charge. We also feature an indoor pool and exercise room for guest use. The GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls is located 1/2 mile from the Sioux Falls Arena and Convention Center, and 1.5 miles from the South Dakota Air National Guard and the Sioux Falls Airport Joe Foss Field. FSD-Sioux Falls 5 miles Northwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn Sioux Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.