We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location right by the Riverwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, SD

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, SD to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, SD
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 East 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great location right by the Riverwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our way to the Black Hills. The staff at the desk was awesome, they baked extra cookies for us and gave us lots of information about the area. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and breakfast was good, plenty of options, The only minor issue was the parking lot.... Very small for such a large hotel. But, it was a great stay!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    60
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
57
37
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights and although the convenience of it right downtown is great, the staff I found to be so so. The front desk person when we signed in was stoic and not very welcoming. The Falls Landing Restaurant is attached and part of the hotel, has good food overall. Again, the staff, including the wait staff was not really personable, in our view. They seemed to be selective in whom they catered to, which was usually someone they knew or themselves. The trains were also something that was annoying, blowing horns although the night. So rated it average because of location, food. Customer service overall could have been so much better. Will look for another option next time around.

Room Tip: Get a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a standard Country Inn hotel in a great location. Half the rooms face the river and the lovely, 14 mile (or so) paved River Walk for bikers, joggers, walkers and special events. Also, the hotel is just a short walk away from the many restaurants, clubs, etc on Phillips Ave. and a 2 minute walk from the Wild Sage Grille, an excellent local restaurant. The free breakfast buffet had plenty of choices. We also enjoyed the freshly baked cookies in the afternoon. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. During one of our stays the king bed had a nightstand on only one side of the bed, which was very inconvenient for the one of us.This was not the case in our room during a later visit. I assume the difference was that the 1st room had a door to provide access to the room next door, which was not the case in the 2nd room. They have a small restaurant/bar on site with outdoor seating on the river - a pleasant spot in good weather that is also popular with the locals.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boaz, Alabama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel was perfect. It's right off of the interstate. The hotel serves a really nice breakfast and Monday through Thursday they serve supper. The supper was a nice surprise complete with a small salad bar. They also have beer and wine at dinner if you choose. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
241 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a new high rise Country Inn in the downtown area which is located right on the pretty Big Sioux RIver. It's right next to the paved river walk which goes for 18 miles around Sioux Falls (great for jogging, etc.). It's only a 1/4 mile from Falls Park and an easy walk to the downtown entertainment district along Phillips Avenue, which has good restaurants and bars. Our King Room overlooked the river---very nice.Thus, the highlight is the location, as in other respects it's your typical Country Inn with clean rooms, nice amenities, free breakfast, etc. The fitness center and pool are average for the chain. I found the lady at the front desk to be rather abrupt and not real friendly. There is a casual restaurant at the lower level of the hotel building---don't think it's owned by Country Inn, though. All in all, a nice stay with a good view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here with family one night on the way to Yellowstone. Our room was clean enough and modern enough. But the room was little small compared to other hotels. Breakfast was ok. There is a bike/walk path behind the hotel leading to the Falls Park which we took advantage of. That was nice. Unless I have some business to do in downtown, I may look for a better value somewhere else next time.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri Valley, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was a bit leary to book this based on other reviews, but it was fine. Stayed here Mon-Thurs for a mini getaway vacation. Hotel was clean, beds very, very comfortable--including the pillows! Breakfast was typical. Was very convenient to everything in Sioux Falls and easy to find/get to. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, SD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, SD

Address: 200 East 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, SD 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD conveniently located in the heart of downtown, near Falls Park and the business district. Your stay in Sioux Falls will be stress-free thanks to our helpful services, including a heated indoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary high-speed Internet access, airport shuttle service via local taxi and an on-site restaurant. Situated in downtown Sioux Falls, our hotel's location makes it easy for guests to visit the Old Courthouse Museum, the Sioux Falls Arena and Convention Center, the Washington Pavilion of Arts & Science and the Great Plains Zoo. Reserve your room online today and discover all the great benefits of the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, SD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Country Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, SD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.