We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A work in progress” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CountryInns.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 East Eighth Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
Ames, Iowa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A work in progress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Located along the river walk downtown. Lots of construction in the area. Recent facelift. Attached restaurant closed on Sunday. Breakfast ok, not as good as other CI&S I have been to. Whirlpool spa needed attention.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    29
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
17
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

For $130, I was very disappointed with this hotel. Photos on website didn't represent the room I stayed in. Parking was a mess. I could tell they've done some updates, but the room had an odd smell. The iron was broken and the reservoir had a hole that leaked water. Any other time, I would have called the front desk and exchanged, but I was under a time crunch and just had to make do. Only good thing I can say about this hotel is that the location is great. Won't stay again if I can help it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was my first stay and a Country Inn and II was pleasantly surprised. I had a spacious king size room. A very comfortable bed, hot shower, and good breakfast too.
Nice downtown location that is easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Everything was fantastic. Especially the staff. The employee that works the continental breakfast was great. My kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub (which wasn't too hot for them). The only real negative was the constant noise of trains blowing their horns half a block away which seemed like all night long. I turned the fan from the air conditioner on to try and drown out the outside noise. There is construction across the street that started quite early but my kids get up at the crack of dawn anyway so that was fine. Our room was on the front of the building so the back may be better. Also, the way we drove in was through what looked like a sketchy neighborhood and wondered where the heck my husband booked our stay. Then it seemed to change quickly into more of a revitalized neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm so glad to hear we took good care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is located in a good spot. Close to Falls Park and the downtown area. However, the hotel was not what we expected from Country Inns.
Our room didn't smell fresh - we ended up opening the windows to air it out!
We arrived in our room to find a bag of towels, soaps, etc on our floor with a note that says so we missed cleaning your room.
We found someone's leftover milk in our fridge.
While the beds were made and things looked somewhat cleaned - it just didn't seem like it was.
We informed the front desk - she didn't seem too concerned.
The breakfast area is VERY SMALL. Maybe 20 or so chairs and more than 50 people trying to eat breakfast. Not fun!!!
We filled out the survey and were offered a free night to come back and try them again - however, this was a family vacation out west and we will not be traveling through the area any time soon. No response after that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't have a good stay with us. It seems that something went wrong in housekeeping for you to have the checkin experience you had with your room. I apologize for that and assure you this is not typical. Customer service is our top priority and I'm sorry that it seems that didn't happen for you. Please call Amber at the hotel to make this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We enjoyed staying at this hotel. The manager on duty when we checked in was very friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations. No problem with our room; it was just as expected and had a nice view of the river. We stayed in a suite with a queen bed in one bedroom and a pullout for the kids in the sitting room area. Comfortable beds and nice televisions. Falls Park is a ten minute walk from the hotel and you could easily walk downtown to restaurants and the wonderful sculpture walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My team and I travel to Sioux Falls regularly. We always stay at this hotel. WHY? the staff is amazing..especially the front desk team and the manager (spiky black hair gal). The rooms are literally spotless and the beds are to die for. These are the most comfortable rooms with plenty of lighting and a very clean feel! I would reccomend this hotel over any other brand! The best I stay at!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls Hotel
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Country Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Country Inn
Address: 200 East Eighth Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#13 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD conveniently located in the heart of downtown, near Falls Park and the business district. Your stay in Sioux Falls will be stress-free thanks to our helpful services, including a heated indoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary high-speed Internet access, airport shuttle service via local taxi and an on-site restaurant. Situated in downtown Sioux Falls, our hotel's location makes it easy for guests to visit the Old Courthouse Museum, the Sioux Falls Arena and Convention Center, the Washington Pavilion of Arts & Science and the Great Plains Zoo. Reserve your room online today and discover all the great benefits of the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls to your Saves list