We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay if you'd like to see the Falls and walk to town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 East Eighth Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Burlington, NJ
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay if you'd like to see the Falls and walk to town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

We wanted to try a Country Inn and Suites, and the location of this one was reviewed as being near the Falls. We didn't get a chance on a earlier stop in Sioux Falls so I was looking forward to it. We were not disappointed. We arrived, to f ind a very full parking lot - apparently a wedding and a family reunion were involved. We did get the last spot, and there is overflow parking next door. We were graciously checked in, and found the room to be quite roomy for our three large pieces of luggage. Since parking seemed to be full, we decided not to move the car but did walk to town and had dinner at the Phillips Avenue Diner (we had already eatten at Minerva's on a earlier trip - good but a little pricey). This place is not your average diner - it has a lot of atmosphere, excellent service and good food! We were very pleased, and it was nice to be able to take a walk afterwards and watch the horse and carriages along Phillips avenue. The hotel does have a restraunt with a overlook of the river, but there was a private party going on so we decided to eat elsewhere.

We took a walk outside to find the walkway nearby that can take you to the falls. It would have been easier to walk off the deck of the hotel, but there was a large party on it when we were there so we didn't want to just cut across. The walk is easy enough, and you'll come across the falls. What a lovely park! There is a tower there that has an elevator there to see the view, and a gift shop that was quite reasonable! We happily walked away with two $5.00 T shirts. Bring your camera, and there is a light show at night, though we opted not to stay for it. The path is a lovely walk from the falls to the town area.

Monk's Ale house is right down the street from the hotel. We didn't get a chance to go here but we've been to the one in Philly - which is very good. Also there is a giant train yard next to the park at the Falls and you'll see tracks and a old train station near the hotel.

Once nice mention for Country Inn and Suites - they have a Read and Return program. Yes, they have a book shelf full of books you can borrow - and if your not done when you stay is done, just send it back later. I had just finished a book I brought and needed something to do while waiting for laundry - and happily read a paperback from this shelf. What a lovely idea.

Overall we had a great stay and would stay here again.

  • Liked — Close to town and the falls
  • Disliked — Small parking lot just in front of the hotel - though extra parking is nearby
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    42
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
40
23
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
484 helpful votes 484 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

We were guests of the hotel on July 6, 2007. We stayed in a 2 room suite and had a AAA /CAA rate of $116.10.

We have stayed at several Country Inn Suites in Canada. This one had fewer amenities than some. Front desk staff was civil but quite inhospitable.

Our room was clean and quiet and we had a nice view of the river.

The hotel is well located to Philips?, a historic area of the city with outdoor patios, bars, and restaurants.. We dined at Minervas and had a very good meal and then walked the very pretty street.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

Stayed here on business from April.3-5. Received a standard room. Good size and comfortable bed and pillows. Heating/Colling units in room are very loud and are not consistent.

Continental breakfast was limited but ok. Very average hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Lack of amenities, loud inconsistent heating/cooling units
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2005

We recently stayed here for one night and were pleased. Very reasonable rates. Parking is a little tight but not unexpected for a downtown location in any city. Little disappointed in the pool area-it is much smaller than it appears in photos. However, the rooms were nice-your typical hotel but up to date and very clean. My husband and his uncle spent some time in the lounge and enjoyed it-friendly staff and patrons. Nice breakfast area and nice breakfast including waffles. Check-in and check-out were a breeze and the staff was very accomodating-made copies for me at no charge. They also have a computer in the lobby available if you need to check e-mails or what-not. I booked this hotel mainly because it was walking distance to the falls which I had missed on 2 previous trips. Turns out we arrived too late to see the falls so a motel by the highway would have been more convenient but I have no complaints and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

Our family of four stayed in mid-July. It was ok. We really like the one bedroom suites for our family and Country Inns has them. The room was nice and we had a view of the river.
The pool was also nice and clean.
One downside, the resturant. They have a happy hour from 4 to 7 and it was really too "bar"-like for our kids.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2003

We book this place a month earlier, after reading a tripadvisor review.
We arrived on 6/6 and everything was just right! The room was great and the desk service was right on the ball. As "bloody tourists" we were in need of any help we could get and the staff were just great.We shared ribs on the balcony (beer garden as we say) overlooking the river and then wandered down to the falls for the evening light show. It ended up being a late night (about 1am), the room was perfect, no noise through the walls etc.The place was very busy, a junior soccer team was in but that didn't phase anyone.The self serve breakfast (continental) is the best we have had! Including waffles & muffins.As far as we are concerned it is about the best value for money we had in the whole 5 weeks we were touring. Coupled with good friendly service, we stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2003

We had booked our Wednesday night stay earlier in the day. The first thing we noticed was the lack of parking. The check-in lobby was small and there was no luggage cart available (something necessary for a family). The non-smoking suite we had booked smelled strongly of cleaners and had definately been smoked in very recently. The pool was small with a lack of lighting. The bar/restaurant was filled with smokers, even in the no smoking section. Instead of eating, we diecided to leave and checked out of this hotel 30 minutes after arriving.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Address: 200 East Eighth Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#16 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD conveniently located in the heart of downtown, near Falls Park and the business district. Your stay in Sioux Falls will be stress-free thanks to our helpful services, including a heated indoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary high-speed Internet access, airport shuttle service via local taxi and an on-site restaurant. Situated in downtown Sioux Falls, our hotel's location makes it easy for guests to visit the Old Courthouse Museum, the Sioux Falls Arena and Convention Center, the Washington Pavilion of Arts & Science and the Great Plains Zoo. Reserve your room online today and discover all the great benefits of the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Carlson, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Country Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.