We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gene & Sarah's ice storm experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 East Eighth Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gene & Sarah's ice storm experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had the opportunity, thankfully, to stay at the Country Inn & Suites in downtown Sioux Falls for five nights this past week because of the damage done to our power supply as a result of the devastating ice storm that hit Sioux Falls.

The staff (Mary Beth, Sam, Amber, Kerry and Kathie with morning breakfast each day) were fabulous. It was a stressful situation for us and surely for the staff as they had to accommodate so many storm victims, work crews and the guests who had long before the storm made reservations for the week we stayed with them. They handled it with professionalism, efficiency and aplomb. Thanks so much to them for all they did to accommodate us and to make our stay so comfortable under the circumstances (of us being out of our element, off our routine and out of sorts). Thanks again to each and everyone of them.

The facility was great. It was warm, safe, comfy and wonderful for being easy to access and easy to come and go from as we went back and forth from our home to check on it, manage what we could (given we had no power) and to keep some anchor to at least a bit of our routine.

We would easily and gladly stay with these folks again although we would prefer it be a stay of our choice instead of a necessary stay due to storm damage and problems.

We wholeheartedly advocate this facility as a great place to stay at any time and for any occasion. Thanks again to everyone connected to our stay and our issues with the ice storm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We loved having you, agree with you that next time its under better conditions, thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    54
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
52
34
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here one night before my wife was to have surgery. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We didn't go to the restuarant in the hotel, but there is a very good one, The Wild Sage, right next door to the hotel. Some friends of ours in Sioux Falls recommended it and met us there. The room was very adequate and clean. Also had a fridge and microwave. About the only complaint we had was the heater in the room made a little bit of noise. We still slept ok though. My wife had to be at surgery about the time the breakfast bar opened, but the lady getting it ready did everything she could to make sure I could get a quick breakfast. She had even made the coffee a little early! The place is within a block of downtown Sioux Falls, and less than 8 minutes to Avera Hospital.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to let us hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulda
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stay at country inns 15 to 20 nights a year so this review is more or less compared to the many other country inns I have stayed at.

The location is great, right off of down town with a nice view of a creek. The staff here was very courteous and professional from start to finish. The hotel is clean and in livable condition but not great. It is smoke free and that is always nice.

On our arrival I was expecting the usually country inn charm of fresh cookies. Not a big deal but you kind of get used to it and many country inns bake their own so it smells wonderful. Well not this one! They had the cheapest, oldest, driest, dead oatmeal cookies that could be found in the day old bargain bin. Seriously you would do yourself a HUGE favor to have nothing at all rather than what was on the counter.

The room was large and comfortable but rather oddly shaped and decorated. They left a lot of wasted space but no matter. The bathroom was clean but the door would not latch closed. Might not have been a big deal but apparently it was crooked enough that it opened all by itself too. I was not alone on the stay not being able to close the bathroom door was quite annoying.

On the way down to breakfast we usually grab the stairs but this stairway led to nowhere. It was only an outside access. It would have been really handy to have that posted at the door at the TOP of the stair well rather than to find out at the bottom.

Apparently everyone is just supposed to know there way around this hotel. There was not one sign in the place directing us elevators, the breakfast room or anywhere else. Do the Carlson folks not visit their own hotels and look for this stuff??

I think there is a lounge or restaurant at the hotel but there was no sign or menu by the door so I am not positive on that. With the weather as it was we probably would have eaten there was.

The breakfast area was a bit on the small side for this size hotel but not a disaster since it was not very busy when we were there. The food was fine and it was pretty clean.

It wouldn’t take much to get this property up to Country Inn spec and really none of the above issues would keep me from going back. Still it was dissipointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay here in Sioux Falls. We are glad that you found the hotel clean, the food good and friendly staff! We pride ourselves on our customer service. In response to your findings about the signage, agreed. I had never had anyone comment on the stairwell that leads only to the outside of the building but we should have a sign stating that stairwell leads only to the outside, we have ordered signage for that. We have signage as well as a menu in the elevator for our Falls Landind pub and grill to ensure the customers are aware it is onsite. I hope that you will come see us again and thank you for helping us improve our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Nebraska
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding in Sioux Falls. The room was small but otherwise fine, clean enough and nicely decorated. What kept us up most of the night was the AWFUL heating unit! Very noisy and impossible to regulate, either too cold or too hot. This was one of the worst nights' sleep in my life! The breakfast was very nice but it was freezing in the breakfast room because guests kept coming and going and the front door kept opening and freezing air was coming in, both doors of the breakfast room were propped wide open. Disappointing stay, would never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. So sorry that you didn't sleep well. We would like to look at the unit that gave you trouble but we can't locate your information. Could you please let us know which room you stayed in? We hate that you won't give us another try as properly functioning units are the norm. Please consider visiting us again to have a better visit. Please contact Amber the gm at the hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis Mn
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My family has been gathering at this hotel for several years for a family reunion in October. It is very well run and has an excellent staff. The location on the Sioux River is perfect for walking or jogging to the Falls, and it is a very easy walk to downtown Sioux Falls. The breakfast has everything anybody could want. The rooms are large and all have refrigerators and microwaves.
The breakfast room gets really crowded on busy days, but free is free. The walls are a little thin (noise) but the price, location, friendly staff, and free breakfast far outweigh these two small criticisms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay! So glad you enjoyed your visit. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I travel regularly to Sioux Falls for business and always stay at the Country Inn and Suites. Recently rennovated, the property is clean and inviting. Continental breakfast, workout room, pool, laundry, restaurant/lounge, free wifi and daily newspaper all available for my use. The manager and all staff are friendly and helpful. I am treated as a valued guest and greeted by name. I initially stayed because it was a convenient location; I return and recommend it to others because it is a great place to stay. I would also recommend joining the Carlson Club.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Glad to hear you enjoy the property time and time again. Agreed the river views are awesome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for $77 for an overnight Avera Hospital stay. This is probably the closest hotel to Avera. We had to be at the hospital by 6:45 AM and had only about a five minute drive. Great facility. Marvelous, friendly, helpful staff. Staff is bubbly and friendly with everyone. The desk clerk told me the motel was 16 years old, but it has been recently renovated, and looks and smells like new. Rooms are sparkling clean. Has an adjacent restaurant, with good food.

Room Tip: located in downtown Sioux Falls, on the river, close to fine dining, entertainment, and near the Si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are so glad that you found our location perfect for your hospital visit. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Address: 200 East Eighth Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD conveniently located in the heart of downtown, near Falls Park and the business district. Your stay in Sioux Falls will be stress-free thanks to our helpful services, including a heated indoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary high-speed Internet access, airport shuttle service via local taxi and an on-site restaurant. Situated in downtown Sioux Falls, our hotel's location makes it easy for guests to visit the Old Courthouse Museum, the Sioux Falls Arena and Convention Center, the Washington Pavilion of Arts & Science and the Great Plains Zoo. Reserve your room online today and discover all the great benefits of the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Country Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.