We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 East Eighth Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #22 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Awsome property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have stayed at Many Country Inn and Suites, But this property stands out by a Far!
Awsome Staff, Right downtown Sioux Falls, SD near many resturants and things to do. Right on the river! In addition to everything this property has a pool, hot tub and resturant and bar right on property! Being a Carlson member they were so kind as to upgrade me to a executive room with a jacuzzi! Thank you Very much for your services!

Room Tip: if available request a room with a river view, I didnt have one but I bet its very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Upgrades are always nice! Thank you for being a loyal carlson member. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    41
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
23
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Location is very convenient and staff was very helpful. Our executive room had jacuzzi and comfortable bed. It was quite large and well equipped. Two problems, one most likely a weekend problem only: The breakfast room was mobbed on Saturday and Sunday. There was no place to sit for 15 minutes and everything was running out.There was NO COFFEE for at least the first 10 minutes. On Sunday there was only one worker who was trying very hard, but she just couldn't keep up with the mob. The breakfast had healthy choices including very good oatmeal and apples and oranges (but avoid the frozen mixed fruit -- it was disgusting). The second problem was the soundproofing. If anyone close to us used their jacuzzi, it sounded like it was right in our room -- really LOUD -- especially at 2 am. I would come here again, but only during the week.

Room Tip: In back and nowhere near a room with jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are sorry you experienced some issues while at the property. We have taken your comments and tried to correct them. We now are using our large meeting room as overflow for the days breakfast is crowded and always have two people scheduled on busy mornings. Glad that overall your stay was good. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with good beds, a nice continental breakfast with hot oatmeal and several rotating hot items daily. The exercise room is remodeled with 2 treadmills, 1 eliptical, a weight machine - very nice. The best part of the stay though is the downtown location near the falls and some really neat restaurants and bars around the corner on Philips Ave. Way better staying down here than by the Empire Mall where tons of htls are.
Air conditioners work great at this hjotel - our room was like a meat locker on a very hot weekend. The only negative of this hotel is the breakfast room is too small and sometimes it is hard to find a table and you can hear people walking above you in the floor above.
Will definitely stay here again - really charming part of town and continually getting better.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor so you don't hear people walking above you or bring a noise maker to your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are glad you were able to enjoy our exercise room and location. Great that you were able to enjoy the downtown area. Sorry for the noise you heard above you. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the CIS on a Thursday night and were welcomed by the front desk person who was very friendly and accomodating. We stayed in a 2Q room and it was clean and inviting. The breakfast was very good and was stocked with both hot and cold items. The location was neat as it was close to downtown eateries and our family enjoyed the walk down by the river. The pool was smaller but the kids still enjoyed the water.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are happy you enjoyed the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I just finished staying one night at this hotel and it was quite good. It is right downtown . .within easy walking distance of both the falls, as well as, the downtown core. As Sioux Falls is a relatively small town, you can just park your car and walk.

Room Tip: I would just stay away from the on-site bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located near Philips Avenue where you can just walk over and view the sculpture walk. As well, the trolley goes right in front of the hotel (stops about a block away). The first room we had, carpet was wet near a/c. They quickly changed us to another room. The room we had was very nice. Mini fridge and microwave. The breakfast area is quite small tho. The breakfasts were very good and staff was on top of refilling necessary items.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Please come and see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

nice and clean, all over. pool was nice and so was the hot tub. rooms were clean beds were very comfortable, we have a sleep number bed at home so a lot of other beds are uncomfortable but these beds were fantastic. Can't say enough about the breakfast, from waffles to build your own burritos, yogurt, fruit, granola, cereal, porridge. a choice for everyone. beautiful area close to downtown and right along the sioux river walking path and falls park. the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Stayed for 4 nights and not one complaint about the hotel. I will stay there again if ever back in that area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Address: 200 East Eighth Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#17 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD conveniently located in the heart of downtown, near Falls Park and the business district. Your stay in Sioux Falls will be stress-free thanks to our helpful services, including a heated indoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary high-speed Internet access, airport shuttle service via local taxi and an on-site restaurant. Situated in downtown Sioux Falls, our hotel's location makes it easy for guests to visit the Old Courthouse Museum, the Sioux Falls Arena and Convention Center, the Washington Pavilion of Arts & Science and the Great Plains Zoo. Reserve your room online today and discover all the great benefits of the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Country Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.