We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In town for a funeral” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3620 West Avera Drive, Sioux Falls, SD 57108   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Elkader, Iowa, United States
1 review
“In town for a funeral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We packed in a hurry and traveled 400 miles to Sioux Falls, South Dakota. The room was a refuge and as we experienced a sad trip to town Having the extra space in the suit enabled all three of us to be very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    51
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
99
49
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Had an incredible experience. Accommodations and amenities were first class. Absolutely would stay here again, without a doubt! Best hotel we stayed at during our week in South Dakota. Manager's receptions had incredible food and breakfast was superb!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Michael, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I really like Homewood Suites hotels and look for them when I am travelling as an option, but this one fell below standard. It wasn't very clean, the air conditioners rattled loudly, and the closet door wouldn't work.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meloney M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance and housekeeping team to ensure these issues don’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We continue to enjoy this hotel each year. The condition of the hotel is the same as when we first stayed there four years ago. Excellent accomodations and comfortable surroundings. Rooms are extremely quiet although the AC takes a little getting used to. Highly recommended for groups.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Prague, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was not our first stay at the Homewood Suites in Sioux falls. Our first was around Christmas time 2012. During that visit, our children went swimming and we subsequently found a tampon floating in the hot tub. We reported this immediately to the front desk person, who came in with a pool net to fish it out. She then tried to tell us that she couldn't find it and then when she did find the floater, she tried to tell us that she didn't think it was what we were claiming it to be. We complained after that visit about our disappointment and were persuaded to "give them another chance."
This leads to our visit this 4th of July weekend. We were in town for a family reunion and had booked a king bedroom suite.

Upon arriving in the room and checking things over, we weren't blown away by any means, but we didn't feel like it was the roach motel. Here's our critique.

The bedroom:
Corner wallpaper is peeling away from the wall and is most prominently bad along the exterior corners.
One window would not open at all, while the other did, but would not stay open, it would slam back down if you let go of it.
Speaking of windows...not sure if housekeeping has cleaned said windows or sills in the past 10 years. There was quite a bit of dirt, dust, and animal hair on the sills.

Bed: Mattress is in sore need of replacement... Don't know how else to explain it. It has reached it's end of life.
There was no mattress pad cover. Only a pad? under the fitted sheet in the center of the bed.
Sheets appeared to have some sort of fluid stain on them... ick!

Bathroom: Quite a bit of caulk was missing along the middle section where the shower stall had been originally put together and the little that was there mold growing on it.
Along the floor outside the tub it appeared that housekeeping again hasn't cleaned it recently or even in regular intervals.

Breakfast: Meh. We appreciated having more than the typical continental breakfast, but wasn't impressed. Minimal, sometimes no, fruit. Scrambled eggs, sausage, and hashbrowns are nice, but the other Homewood Suites we've stayed at had a different breakfast every day.

Hot tub/pool: The kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool, however when my husband and I gave the hot tub a second chance, I couldn't even submerge my foot without feeling that my skin was going to melt off. For someone that routinely showers on hot, it was too hot. We again reported this issue to the front desk. A man walked between the controls and the hot tub a couple times. He then reported back to us that it was only 1 degree too warm at 105 when it was supposed to be at 104. I really wish that I would have had my own thermometer as neither my husband or I believe this. Still, hot tubs are typically around 100-102 degrees.

We've stayed at other Homewood Suites and have been thoroughly impressed. These locations were mainly around the Denver area. Maybe the management from the Homewood Suites Sioux Falls could visit these locations and learn a couple of things from them.

Unfortunately, for Homewood Suites Sioux Falls there will not be a 3rd visit for our family. We will find another place for our family to stay that provides a home like experience. Such a disappointment as we know how good this particular hotel brand can be.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meloney M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry that your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards and we apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, SC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Upon arrival, greeted by warm chocolate chip cookies and a smiling face. Quick check-in and we were on our way up. Evening reception featured lightly barbecued chicken, rolls, salad and potato chips. Add another cookie from the front desk, and that was dinner. Rooms were clean, and as always we loved the Hilton brand beds. Very large room. Free breakfast. Only complaint is weekday breakfast ends at 9, but that is common with Hilton brand that is not in a 'tourist' location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

this hotel was clean and comfortable. the kitchen had all i needed to make a quick meal, the refrigerator had an icemaker. The bed was very comfortable. made it feel very much like home . i would recommened this hotel to anyone in the area for work or play.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls

Address: 3620 West Avera Drive, Sioux Falls, SD 57108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#4 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Homewood Suites Sioux Falls
Hilton Sioux Falls
Homewood Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Hilton
Sioux Falls Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.