We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Sioux Falls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sioux Falls

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sioux Falls
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2417 South Carolyn Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%!
Ranked #14 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Sioux Falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent one night here on our way out west. The room was large, comfortable and clean. Not a surprise for Hampton. We requested and got a room not facing the highway and so sleep was not interrupted. Breakfast was usual Hampton fare; acceptable, but not outstanding. The only issue I had was with the two front desk clerks at checkout. We discovered that the TV was not working the morning of checkout. We had not used it the night before because of our late arrival. We needed to check the weather in the morning because of the midwest storm. We did not phone and wait for someone to fix it or have to encounter long instructions on what to do. I merely informed the clerks so that the next guests would not have that concern. Their response was that the TV just probably had to be rebooted. I told them that it was not clear to me, nor would I know how to reboot it. They answered that I could always call the desk. Yes, but I did not have time in the morning and would have appreciated everything in working order. I did not appreciate their attitude. As with many young folks these days who are tech savvy, they assume that everyone else is. Interestingly, I did not receive a survey to complete from this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing highway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcCabe, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for taking the time and giving us a review of your experience at our hotel. Glad you enjoyed your stay and I apologize for the television situation. We are accustomed to receiving very postive feedback and are disheartened that you did not experience the level of excellence you deserve. Please be assured that we will share this with our team to improve the quality of service to our guests. Hope you try us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    66
    21
    13
    5
See reviews for
73
51
7
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My stay at the Hampton Inn was pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable and the young gentleman who checked me in was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to others and stay here again on my next trip to Sioux Falls.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcCabe, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel and the recommendation to come stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our Hamptonality. When you come back to Sioux Falls we do hope you stay with us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel had a great location near dining options, theater, and shopping mall. The amenities of lobby, pool, internet and complimentary breakfast, made for an enjoyable time for 11 members of our family ranging in age from 9 to 75.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcCabe, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for taking the time and giving us a kind review. So glad you chose the Hampton Inn Sioux Falls for your family gathering and enjoyed stay, do hope you comeback and stay with us real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Information provided during the reservation process turned out to be inaccurate. When we arrived, we were told there would be no shuttle to the airport the next morning, which was Christmas Day. This would not be an issue had we been told that in the first place. As it was, we had to arrange our own transportation back to the airport. The evening/night staff, while pleasant, were not very professional. The desk was left unmanned several times. The carpet in the hallways needed to be vacuumed. The heater in the room would not work properly. While the room was warm during a very cold spell, the temperature could not be controlled. The highlights for this stay were the hot tub and the breakfasts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcCabe, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip. Reading your comments, it appears that we fell short of your expectations and for that, we sincerely apologize. We are accustomed to receiving very positive feedback from our guests and are disheartened that you did not experience the level of excellence you deserve. Please be assured that your concerns will be shared with our management team so that corrective measures are taken where feasible.

We do hope that you can give us another opportunity to regain your confidence in our hotel if your travels bring you to our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The staff was very friendly and provided warm chocolate chip cookies upon arrival. They have great coffee and flavored creamers available all day. We enjoyed the warm saltwater pool and hot-tub. We appreciated two queen beds and sofa bed, for the same price as a regular room,for our family of five. This hotel is easy to find, and close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcCabe, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for taking the time and giving us such a kind review. We truly appreciate your feedback and please choose us again on your return visit to Sioux Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill City, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

The room was not clean and the staff incredibly rude. We had a noisy room--staff didn't care. Problems with our check in--staff didn't care. Crazy people pandering for money in the parking lot--staffs response "sorry!" Rotten location, ordinary room, poor value and if I want yo be treated poorly I don't need to pay $200 for it. DO NOT STAY HERE. Moved to the Staybridge suite after 1 night.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcCabe, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I truly regret that you had a disappointing experience with us and that you found some of our staff members to be apathetic and unprofessional towards you. I sincerely apologize for this. I was both surprised and deeply disappointed by your recount of your experience with us. I assure you that it’s contrary to what our customers typically see from us.

Again, I sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I hope that next time you are in town, you give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service you deserve. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on 19 Dec and it was very nice. The check-in was smooth and there are great restaurants in the area. My son went to the pool and had a great time. The breakfast was good and the staff were helpful. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Great places to eat within walking distance including Carnival Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcCabe, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for your feedback we do appreciate it. So Happy you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Hampton Inn Sioux Falls! I will also share your comments with our team. Thanks again and do hope you comeback soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sioux Falls

Address: 2417 South Carolyn Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#9 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sioux Falls 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.