We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Gathering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sioux Falls

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sioux Falls
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2417 South Carolyn Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%!
Ranked #11 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Alexandria, United States
1 review
“Family Gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel had a great location near dining options, theater, and shopping mall. The amenities of lobby, pool, internet and complimentary breakfast, made for an enjoyable time for 11 members of our family ranging in age from 9 to 75.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcCabe, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for taking the time and giving us a kind review. So glad you chose the Hampton Inn Sioux Falls for your family gathering and enjoyed stay, do hope you comeback and stay with us real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    66
    21
    13
    5
See reviews for
73
51
7
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billings, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Information provided during the reservation process turned out to be inaccurate. When we arrived, we were told there would be no shuttle to the airport the next morning, which was Christmas Day. This would not be an issue had we been told that in the first place. As it was, we had to arrange our own transportation back to the airport. The evening/night staff, while pleasant, were not very professional. The desk was left unmanned several times. The carpet in the hallways needed to be vacuumed. The heater in the room would not work properly. While the room was warm during a very cold spell, the temperature could not be controlled. The highlights for this stay were the hot tub and the breakfasts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcCabe, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip. Reading your comments, it appears that we fell short of your expectations and for that, we sincerely apologize. We are accustomed to receiving very positive feedback from our guests and are disheartened that you did not experience the level of excellence you deserve. Please be assured that your concerns will be shared with our management team so that corrective measures are taken where feasible.

We do hope that you can give us another opportunity to regain your confidence in our hotel if your travels bring you to our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The staff was very friendly and provided warm chocolate chip cookies upon arrival. They have great coffee and flavored creamers available all day. We enjoyed the warm saltwater pool and hot-tub. We appreciated two queen beds and sofa bed, for the same price as a regular room,for our family of five. This hotel is easy to find, and close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcCabe, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for taking the time and giving us such a kind review. We truly appreciate your feedback and please choose us again on your return visit to Sioux Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill City, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

The room was not clean and the staff incredibly rude. We had a noisy room--staff didn't care. Problems with our check in--staff didn't care. Crazy people pandering for money in the parking lot--staffs response "sorry!" Rotten location, ordinary room, poor value and if I want yo be treated poorly I don't need to pay $200 for it. DO NOT STAY HERE. Moved to the Staybridge suite after 1 night.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcCabe, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I truly regret that you had a disappointing experience with us and that you found some of our staff members to be apathetic and unprofessional towards you. I sincerely apologize for this. I was both surprised and deeply disappointed by your recount of your experience with us. I assure you that it’s contrary to what our customers typically see from us.

Again, I sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I hope that next time you are in town, you give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service you deserve. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on 19 Dec and it was very nice. The check-in was smooth and there are great restaurants in the area. My son went to the pool and had a great time. The breakfast was good and the staff were helpful. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Great places to eat within walking distance including Carnival Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcCabe, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for your feedback we do appreciate it. So Happy you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Hampton Inn Sioux Falls! I will also share your comments with our team. Thanks again and do hope you comeback soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I were at this hotel on 12/26/13-12/29/13. The stay was great until Saturday, 12/28/13. When we woke up, our room smelled like cigarette/marijuana smoke as if someone had been smoking in the hall way. We were on the second floor so the smoke was not coming from outside on the ground level. It became so strong that my wife and I left the room. My wife and I both have Government jobs and cannot risk any contact with marijuana smoke. When we got into the hall way, there was a hotel worker walking past and we brought this to their attention. They stated they would look into this and my wife and I left for the day.
On the night of 12/28/13 we received our early check out sheet that was pushed under our hotel room door. When looking at this, there was a $250.00 charge in addition to our room fees/charges for a “Cleaning Charge!” When the front desk attendant was asked about this, she stated it was for the cigarette/marijuana smoke in our room. We were told to speak with Tracy on Monday, 12-30-13 but there was nothing this clerk could do. When the clerk was told WE were the ones that reported the smoke AND neither of us smoke ANYTHING, she again stated she could not help us but our credit card would be charged for the fee.
Messages have been left requesting a return telephone call however none have been returned. Looking at our bank statement, this hotel did charge us the fee. We just want our hard earned money returned as we thought we were doing the right thing by bringing this to the attention of the hotel staff.
We will NEVER stay at this chain of hotels due to the way the flex their muscle, take our money and have no explanation of why WE WERE CHARGED this fee?????

Thank you,

Steve Sloan

Room Tip: Find a different hoetl. There are plenty in the near area to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcCabe, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
I am sorry you are upset about the $250.00 fee for smoking in room. This hotel is a Non-Smoking hotel and always has been. Please refrain yourself from smoking anything in our hotels, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The staff here go out of the way to make sure you have everything you need. for my business trip, right down to my favorite breakfast item of blueberry muffins. I will stay at no other place when I am traveling. Being a Hilton honors member has it advantages also.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcCabe, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our Hamptonality. Hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sioux Falls

Address: 2417 South Carolyn Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sioux Falls 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.