We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Pancake House

The Original Pancake House
2713 West 41st Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57105
605-271-7222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 324 restaurants in Sioux Falls
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The name talks about pancakes but every thing is good here. The thick sliced bacon is to die for. Go hungry because the portion size is huge. There is always a long wait in the morning so bring something to read.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    36
    8
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“+2 from the standard breakfast franchise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Quick note...the OPH in FSD is so consistently good in terms of quality, presentation, service and value...

In terms of breakfast in town, there is none better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Something has changed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We've been a big fan of OPH since they opened. Always top notch, quality food presented consistently (to match the higher prices). However, in the last six months or so it has begun to change. Long time employees are no longer there, the food quality has become inconsistent and the portions are smaller. Also, the interior, restrooms and tables are showing their age and wear, and the level of cleanliness is not what it used to be. It's always sad to see a place begin to decline after a time. I just hope this is a blip on the radar and OPH will return to exceptional rather than average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell Rapids, South Dakota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“better pancakes at perkins”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Really wasn't to impressed, the omelet is to much for one person, maybe split it between a couple of people , the pancakes not real impressed , can make fluffier ones at home or get them from perkins. Service was ok

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite breakfast place in SF. I wish it stayed open all day, but unfortunately it closes sometime in the afternoon. I don't think I've had a meal there that I didn't like. The pancakes are delicious! And I'm actually not a real big pancake fan. Their omelettes are huge and also very good. I've gone there often with my friend who has celiacs because they have a gluten free menu. She really likes their gluten free options including the gf pancakes. The only downside to this place is that it gets so busy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Pancake House also viewed

 
Sioux Falls, SD
Sioux Falls, SD

Been to The Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.