We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Pancake House

The Original Pancake House
2713 West 41st Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57105
605-271-7222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 305 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite breakfast place in SF. I wish it stayed open all day, but unfortunately it closes sometime in the afternoon. I don't think I've had a meal there that I didn't like. The pancakes are delicious! And I'm actually not a real big pancake fan. Their omelettes are huge and also very good. I've gone there often with my friend who has celiacs because they have a gluten free menu. She really likes their gluten free options including the gf pancakes. The only downside to this place is that it gets so busy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    19
    13
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Delicious choices for breakfast and lunch. Lots of options for pancakes, crepes, omelettes, sandwiches and salads.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I'm not a big fan of pancakes, but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The menu selection is awesome. If you don't like pancakes, the dutch baby or the baked apple pancake is wonderful. You can't go wrong for a great breakfast!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

In town over night, and this spot came recommended. GREAT food in general, but pancakes were to die for!! Service was efficient and friendly. Hope to enjoy again some day!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OPH rocks, as usual!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Back home in MN, my son and I love going to OPH. They have THE best omelettes and pancakes around and the service is always great. Same results at our visit to the OPH in Sioux Falls. I had eggs and bacon (note to the OPH's in MN - in SD you get 4 pieces of the delicious bacon, not 3!!) and great coffee. My son had eggs and hickory smoked ham, which he really liked.

The only negative was the hostess. We walked in, along with another couple, and she said "Just one moment please" and then proceeded to make a personal phone call to her mother. She also seated an elderly couple and when the lady asked her a question, the hostess said "Right here", pointed to the booth, and rolled her eyes. Very rude.

Great food, great service, horrible hostess.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Pancake House also viewed

 
Sioux Falls, SD
 

Been to The Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.